British queens will compete concurrently with the season 13 dolls.

Advertisement

RuPaul's Drag Race UK

type
  • TV Show
genre

After the dumpster fire that was 2020, the RuPaul's Drag Race franchise is coming through with a double antidote of drag excellence at the top of next year.

RuPaul's Drag Race UK season 2 has announced its long anticipated premiere date, and will debut in Britain and the United States on Jan. 14 — just under two weeks after RuPaul's Drag Race season 13 rolls out at 8:00 p.m. on New Year's Day.

New episodes will debut on the BBC Three iPlayer at 7:00 p.m. BST in the United Kingdom and at 2:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. PT domestically on the WOW Presents Plus subscription streaming app.

Though season 2 has yet to premiere, RuPaul's Drag Race UK has begun casting for season 3.

"Looking forward to better days! I'm happy to announced the triumphant return of RuPaul's Drag Race UK," Mama Ru said of new episodes in a prior press statement before confirming that a search was underway for season 3 queens. "Early in 2021, season 2 will arrive with all the hope, joy, laughter, and glitter you've come to expect from our brilliant queens. We're also currently casting season 3 with the best and brightest Great Britain has to offer."

RuPaul's Drag Race UK crowned its season 1 winner, The Vivienne, in November 2019 at the end of a season that featured guest appearances by Andrew Garfield, Geri Halliwell, Cheryl, Maisie Williams, and Michaela Coel. RuPaul oversaw the British court of judges, which also included Michelle Visage, Graham Norton, and Alan Carr, all of whom will return for season 2.

Stateside, RuPaul's Drag Race will welcome 13 new queens to compete on season 13 — including the series' first trans man contestant, Gottmik.

"The trans guys I saw [in media before this] weren’t me. Too masculine, too straight…. I looked around like, all of my guy friends are so feminine, that means I can be feminine, too!" Gottmik exclusively told EW in our season 13 preview. "When I realized that, it was game over. I’m so excited and in such a good place and I’m ready to fight for my community and represent them down."

Other international versions of Drag Race that debuted in 2020 include Canada's Drag Race, which crowned Toronto-based queen Priyanka as the franchise's first Indo-Caribbean winner earlier this year, and Drag Race Holland, which was won by Envy Peru. The Drag Race Spain offshoot is also on deck for the near future.

RuPaul's Drag Race UK season 2 premieres Jan. 14 at 7:00 p.m. GMT on the BBC Three iPlayer and at 2:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. PT on WOW Presents Plus. Watch the teaser above.

Related content:

RuPaul's Drag Race UK

type
  • TV Show
rating
genre

Comments