Bryan Cranston; Chrissy Metz; Jurnee Smollett-Bell
Credit: Bruce Glikas/WireImage; Frazer Harrison/Getty Images; Steve Granitz/WireImage

Bryan Cranston, Chrissy Metz, and Jurnee Smollett are among the honorees at this year's SCAD aTVfest, Entertainment Weekly and the Savannah College of Art and Design announced Friday.

Now in its ninth year, SCAD's annual event celebrating all things television and streaming will be taking place virtually from Feb. 4-6. EW is returning for the fourth year as media partner to create exclusive interview content and curate the Women Who Kick Ass Panel.

"I think we can all agree that this past year has presented us with many challenges, but television has continued to provide us steady comfort to get us through each day," Christina Routhier, executive director of SCAD aTVfest, said in a statement. "I have seen so many outstanding programs and performances over the last year, and we are beyond excited to feature some of the best at this year's SCAD aTVfest. This is the perfect opportunity to celebrate these amazing shows and talented industry professionals. We sincerely thank our network and streaming partners for their continued support in helping us to showcase the best in the industry for our SCAD students and audience."

Breaking Bad and Your Honor star Cranston will receive the Icon Award, while This Is Us actress Metz will be honored with the Vanguard Award, and Lovecraft Country's Smollett will be recognized with the Distinguished Performance Award. Additionally, Cynthia Erivo (Genius: Aretha) will receive the Spotlight Award; Javicia Leslie (Batwoman) will receive the Rising Star Award; Saturday Night Live's Kenan Thompson, whose eponymous show premieres February, will be bestowed the Virtuoso Award; and the cast of Good Girls (Christina Hendricks, Retta, and Mae Whitman) will receive the Maverick Cast Award. Honorees are scheduled to attend virtual screenings and participate in conversations regarding their performances and careers.

Notable guests and shows virtually attending this year's festival include (subject to change):

  • A Million Little Things (ABC) guests to be announced
  • Batwoman (The CW) with actor Javicia Leslie and showrunner/writer/executive producer Caroline Dries
  • Delilah (OWN) with actors Maahra Hill and Jill Marie Jones, creator Craig Wright, and director and executive producer Charles Randolph-Wright
  • Everything's Gonna Be Okay (Freeform) with actors Kayla Cromer, Adam Faison, and Maeve Press
  • For All Mankind (Apple TV+) cast and creative team to be announced
  • The Goldbergs (ABC) cast to be announced
  • Good Girls (NBC) with actors Christina Hendricks, Retta and Mae Whitman
  • Good Trouble (Freeform) with actors/executive producers Maia Mitchell and Cierra Ramirez, and actors Sherry Cola, Zuri Adele, Emma Hunton, Tommy Martinez, Josh Pence and Beau Mirchoff
  • It's a Sin (HBO Max) with actors Olly Alexander, Neil Patrick Harris, Omari Douglas, Callum Scott Howells, Nathaniel Curtis, and Lydia West, and creator, showrunner, executive producer, and writer Russell T Davies
  • Kenan (NBC) with actor and executive producer Kenan Thompson and actors Don Johnson, Chris Redd, Dani Lane, and Dannah Lane
  • Lovecraft Country (HBO) with actor Jurnee Smollett
  • Nancy Drew (The CW) with actor Kennedy McMann and executive producers Melinda Hsu Taylor and Noga Landau
  • Queen Sugar (OWN) with actors Rutina Wesley, Kofi Siriboe, and Dawn-Lyen Gardner
  • Superstore (NBC) with actors Ben Feldman, Lauren Ash, Colton Dunn, Nico Santos, Nichole Sakura, Kaliko Kauahi, and Mark McKinney
  • Tell Me Your Secrets (Amazon Prime Video) – Lily Rabe, Amy Brenneman, Hamish LinklaterEnrique Murciano, Harriet Warner, Bruna Papandrea
  • The Unicorn (CBS) with actors Walton Goggins, Rob Corddry, Michaela Watkins, Omar Miller and Maya Lynne Robinson
  • This Is Us (NBC) with actor Chrissy Metz
  • Woke (Hulu) with actor Lamorne Morris, co-creator and executive producer Marshall Todd, and co-creator and executive producer Keith Knight.
  • Your Honor (SHOWTIME) with actor Bryan Cranston

This year's panels with industry experts include:

  • "-Ish" Happens: A Conversation with the Stars of the "-ish" Universe, a behind-the-scenes look at Black-ish, Grown-ish, and Mixed-ish
  • The Making of Murder on Middle Beach, featuring SCAD alumni and filmmakers Madison Hamburg and Solomon Petchenik
  • Screen Style: Netflix's Ratched and The Queen's Gambit, a stylish look at the garments of each critically acclaimed series
  • Moving Pictures: Adapting Invincible for Animation, an exclusive look at Amazon's upcoming animated series with creator Robert Kirkman
  • Creating Outer Space: Building Worlds with VFX Studio Crafty Apes
  • Raise the Roof with HGTV House Party
  • Producing ABC Unscripted Series During a Pandemic
  • In Conversation series includes insightful talks with actor Cynthia Erivo and singer and composer Linda Perry
  • The annual Wonder Women series, featuring actors, directors, showrunners, and "below-the-line" production staff
  • Inside the Writers' Room
  • Meet the Executives
  • SCAD Alumni Voices, an exclusive panel featuring university graduates working in television and digital media

Visit for additional info.

Related content:

Comments have been disabled on this post