The Amazing Race is taking contestants to new heights in its 30th season — literally.

In a sneak peek, premiering exclusively here, contestants are seen traversing over a river canyon waterfall in Iceland that is up to 100 meters deep and 2 kilometers long.

The contestants seem to be racing to secure a flag dangling midway through the traverse; meanwhile, their partners stay behind and pull them back to the safety of the deck overlooking the waterfall.

“Heights is not my thing, dangling is not my thing, but The Amazing Race has been a part of my family’s lives for 29 seasons,” says contestant Cedric Ceballos as he makes his way to the flag. “I know my kids will be watching. I didn’t want to but it was for the race.”

Read below for a list of The Amazing Race season 30 cast members and watch the exclusive clip above.

  • #TeamIndyCar: Alexander Rossi and Conor Daly
  • #TeamGoatYoga: April Gould and Sarah Williams
  • #TeamBigBrother: Cody Nickson and Jessica Graf
  • #TheRingGirls: Dessie Mitcheson and Kayla Fitzgerald
  • #TeamFirefighters: Eric and Daniel Guiffreda
  • #TeamYale: Henry Zhang and Evan Lynyak
  • #TeamChomp: Joey Chestnut and Tim Janus
  • #TeamExtreme: Kristi Leskinen and Jen Hudak
  • #TeamOceanRescue: Lucas Bocanegra and Brittany Austin
  • #TeamSlamDunk: Cedric Ceballos and Shawn Marion
  • #TeamWellStrung: Trevor Wadleigh and Chris Marchant

The Emmy Award-winning series returns to CBS on Wednesday, Jan. 3 for a two-hour premiere episode starting at 8 p.m. E.T. The two-hour special episodes will continue airing Wednesday, Jan. 24 at 8 p.m. ET and Wednesday, Feb. 7, 14, and 21 at 9 p.m. ET on CBS.

Episode Recaps

The Amazing Race

Phil Keoghan hosts the globe-trotting adventure series.

  • TV Show
  • 29
stream service