The original cast of SNL is also among this year's inductees

By Sarah Weldon
October 12, 2017 at 09:50 AM EDT

The Queen of Television has rightfully secured her crown — okay, not a real crown, but let’s pretend.

The Television Academy announced that Shonda Rhimes is among this year’s class of Hall of Fame inductees. The TV vet is part of a list that includes writer and producer John Wells (ERThe West Wing), art director Roy Christopher (Murphy BrownFrasier), the late great Joan Rivers, and the entire original cast of Saturday Night Live (Dan Aykroyd, Chevy Chase, Jane Curtin, Garrett Morris, Laraine Newman, Gilda Radner, and John Belushi).

“All of these individuals are innovators who have shaped television and left an indelible mark on the medium and our culture,” said Hayma Washington, chairman and CEO of the Television Academy, in a statement. “We are honored to welcome the latest group of distinguished individuals and look forward to showcasing their impacts for future generations.”

Rhimes created mega-popular ABC dramas Grey’s Anatomy and Scandal and executive-produces How to Get Away With Murder and The Catch. She launched her own production company, Shondaland, in 2005, and recently debuted an accompanying website featuring “complex articles and honest conversations beyond the fictional space.”

The 2017 honorees will be honored during a ceremony on Nov. 15.