By Dan Snierson
September 19, 2017 at 02:34 PM EDT
type
  • TV Show
Network
Genre

Live from coast to coast again, it’s Saturday Night!

NBC confirmed on Tuesday that Saturday Night Live will air live on both the east and west coasts — and everywhere in between.

This continues the last season’s experiment, which saw the last four episodes of the NBC late-night sketch series earning strong ratings as it aired live from all four of the country’s time zones. (The season finale, hosted by Dwayne Johnson, was its highest-rated in six years.)

SNL creator Lorne Michaels had previously indicated that the trial would likely become more permanent in the upcoming season 43 for two reasons. “One was [NBC Entertainment Chief] Bob Greenblatt wanted it, and two was that social media was so [focused] on the show that you couldn’t — if you were following Twitter you were hearing about it before you could see it,” he told The Hollywood Reporter‘s Awards Chatter podcast last month. “And so, we’d be divided into two days, there’d be a lot of action on Saturday and then another group [of viewers] on Sunday, and it just seemed like that’s what’s driving things and to get people to stay tuned for a broadcast, it’s better if it’s live and they’re seeing it at the same time.”

The season 43 premiere — which airs on Sept. 30 at 11:30 p.m. ET/10:30 p.m. CT/9:30 p.m. MT/8:30 pm. PT, — will be hosted by Ryan Gosling, with JAY-Z serving as musical guest.

The original late-night comedy sketch show from the one and only Lorne Michaels.
type
  • TV Show
seasons
  • 44
episodes
  • 859
Rating
  • TV-14
Genre
Premiere
  • 10/11/75
creator
Performers
Network
Complete Coverage
Available For Streaming On
Advertisement

Comments



EDIT POST