The 23rd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards - Show
Credit: Kevin Winter/Getty Images

The cast of the Netflix dramedy Orange Is the New Black spoke out in support of immigrants after winning the award for Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series at the 23rd annual Screen Actors Guild Awards Sunday.

“We’d like to say that we stand up here representing a diverse group of people, representing generations of family who have sought a better life here, from places like Nigeria, the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Colombia, Ireland,” said actress Taylor Schilling while accepting the award. “We know that it’s going to be up to us — and all of you, probably, too — to keep telling stories that show what unites us is stronger than the forces that seek to divide us.”

Schilling’s comments come at a time when many Americans are protesting President Donald Trump’s so-called “Muslim ban” — an executive order banning citizens, including refugees, from seven Muslim-majority countries from entering the U.S.

OITNB‘s fourth season, which was released last summer, dealt with the negative effects of Litchfield Prison becoming privatized, race and class divisions, and the power imbalance between the guards and the inmates. This is the third time the show’s cast has won this award, previously winning for seasons 2 and 3.

The ensemble cast includes Uzo Aduba, Alan Aisenberg, Danielle Brooks, Blair Brown, Jackie Cruz, Lea DeLaria, Beth Dover, Kimiko Glenn, Annie Golden, Laura Gómez, Diane Guerrero, Michael J. Harney, Brad William Henke, Vicky Jeudy, Julie Lake, Selenis Leyva, Natasha Lyonne, Taryn Manning, James McMenamin, Adrienne C. Moore, Kate Mulgrew, Emma Myles, Matt Peters, Lori Petty, Jessica Pimentel, Dascha Polanco, Laura Prepon, Jolene Purdy, Elizabeth Rodriguez, Nick Sandow, Abigail Savage, Taylor Schilling, Constance Shulman, Dale Soules, Yael Stone, Lin Tucci, and Samira Wiley.

The Jenji Kohan-created series beat out the casts of Black-ish, The Big Bang Theory, Modern Family, and Veep for the trophy.

See the complete list of winners and nominees.

Episode Recaps

Orange Is the New Black

Jenji Kohan’s absorbing ensemble dramedy, based on Piper Kerman’s memoir of the same name, takes viewers inside the walls of Litchfield, a minimum security women’s prison where nothing’s as simple as it seems—especially the inmates.

  • TV Show
  • 6

Comments have been disabled on this post