By Mary Sollosi
January 18, 2019 at 08:00 AM EST

Hey, 2018: You’re officially done. All your Stars have been Born. Your Places are Quiet. Beale Street has officially Talked. The clock has run out on last year’s cinematic offerings, and Oscar nominations are upon us.

We know you’ve all written your Favourites in your little Green Book, decided which Man would be First and whose Vices would bring them down. Now it’s time to see whether the Academy agreed with you in its first round of voting. Read on to find out how to watch the nominations announcement and discover in real time which now-hopefuls will sing the sweet Bohemian Rhapsody of victory, and who will weep like Widows when their awards journey is cut off. And for those of you who hated every word of the above two paragraphs: I hope You Can Ever Forgive Me.

When are the Oscar nominations?

Set your alarms now, because you’ll be waking up bright and early for these. The two-part announcement will take place Tuesday, Jan. 22, at 8:20 a.m. ET/5:20 a.m. PT. The first half will include the nominees for Best Supporting Actor and Actress, Costume Design, Film Editing, Animated and Live Action Short Films, Sound Editing and Mixing, and Original Score. The second half, beginning promptly at 8:30:30 a.m. ET/5:30:30 a.m. PT (yes, these are choreographed to the half-minute), will include the rest of the categories.

Where can I watch?

All over the place! First of all, right here — the video above will go live when they begin. Second of all, the live stream will also be available on all the Academy’s websites and digital platforms, including Oscar.com, Oscars.org, and its TwitterYouTube, and Facebook pages. And third, you can catch the announcement via satellite feed and local broadcasters.

Who’s announcing them?

Kumail Nanjiani and Tracee Ellis Ross will share announcement duties.

When are the actual Oscars?

The big show will take place Sunday, Feb. 24, at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, and will air live on ABC.

Who’s hosting them?

Yikes, you couldn’t have asked a more loaded question, my friend! To recap: It was going to be Kevin Hart, then it wasn’t. Then Ellen stepped in, but nothing changed. In short: Nobody. As far as we know. Are you volunteering?

Related content:

Advertisement

Comments

EDIT POST