By Devan Coggan
April 07, 2017 at 01:58 PM EDT

O.J.: Made in America is the first and likely the last multi-part film to win the Oscar for best documentary.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences unveiled several rule changes Friday, establishing the guidelines for the upcoming 90th Academy Awards. The Academy’s Board of Governors voted to approve the rules on March 28, including a new rule that disqualifies multi-part films or limited series from competing in the documentary categories.

Last year, Ezra Edelman’s O.J.: Made in America took home the top documentary prize, earning wide acclaim for its deep dive into O.J. Simpson’s life and polarizing trial. At the same time, it stoked criticism among some Oscar voters, who argued that its seven-and-a-half hour running time made it ineligible for consideration as a film. The project was produced by ESPN, and it aired in on ESPN and ABC in five episodes. To qualify for the Oscars, it also played in limited theaters as a single feature.

The Academy also announced changes in other categories, including opening up the animated feature nominations to all Academy voters.

O.J.: Made in America

  • TV Show
  • In Season