By Devan Coggan
December 16, 2016 at 10:36 PM EST
Marvel; Warner Bros. Pictures; Lucasfilm
  • Movie

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has revealed the 10 remaining films eligible for the best visual effects Oscar, ranging from the trippy Marvel visuals of Doctor Strange to the titular creatures of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

This year’s shortlist includes Doctor Strange, Fantastic Beasts, Captain America: Civil War, Arrival, The BFG, Deepwater Horizon, The Jungle Book, Kubo and the Two Strings, and Passengers. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story is also on the list, and with the film hitting theaters this weekend, it’s drawn both high praise and scathing criticism for a certain digitally-rendered character.

Two weeks ago, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences released the initial list of 20 eligible films before whittling it down to 10, eliminating movies like Alice through the Looking Glass, Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, Deadpool, and Suicide Squad. Members of the academy’s visual effects branch executive committee are responsible for picking the finalists, and from here, they’ll vote to determine the five Oscar nominees.

At least year’s Oscar ceremony, Ex Machina took home the award for best visual effects, beating out other bigger budget films like Mad Max: Fury Road, The Martian, The Revenant, and Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

This year’s Oscar nominations will be announced on Jan. 24, with the awards ceremony airing on ABC on Feb. 26.

  • Movie
Complete Coverage