The music industry is giving the greatest love of all to Whitney Houston and more iconic artists announced as the 2020 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees.

The association revealed on Wednesday the six artists who will be ushered into music's vaunted halls: Houston, the Notorious B.I.G., the Doobie Brothers, Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode, and T. Rex. Most of these inductees, including Houston and Biggie, were also first-time nominees. Jon Landau and Irving Azoff will also be inducted with the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

Credit: Imeh Akpanudosen/Getty Images; Kevin Winter/Getty Images; Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic

Unfortunately, 10 nominated artists didn't make the cut this year. First-time contenders Dave Matthews Band, Pat Benatar, Motörhead, Thin Lizzy, and Soundgarden have another shot next year, same with returning nominees Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk (nominated six times prior), Todd Rundgren, and MC5 (nominated five times previously).

Benatar and Dave Matthews Band were the public's top two acts in the Rock Hall Fan Vote, which ended Jan. 10. The seven previous winners of the vote were all inducted.

The Rock Hall may have accidentally revealed the inductees early, as a rock blog noted Tuesday that the organization's website yielded a different result when searching the six inductees than the 10 other nominees.

To qualify for a nod, artists must have released their first commercial work at least 25 years ago. Ballots to determine final induction voting were sent to approximately 1,000 artists, historians, and other members of the music industry.

In 2019, Janet Jackson, Radiohead, Stevie Nicks, the Cure, Def Leppard, the Zombies, and Roxy Music were inducted into the Hall of Fame at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

The 2020 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on May 2 at Cleveland's Public Auditorium, where the ceremony will be broadcast live on HBO at 8 p.m. ET.

Related content:

Comments have been disabled on this post