The rousing single is the first off their forthcoming 'Crooked Shadows,' out Feb. 9

By Ariana Bacle
November 15, 2017 at 12:03 PM EST
David Bean

Insert celebratory “Hands Down” reference here: Dashboard Confessional is back.

The Chris Carrabba-led band announced Wednesday that they’re releasing a new album in February, their first since 2009’s After the Ending. This record will be titled Crooked Shadows and features the just-released lead single “We Fight,” streaming below.

“When I wrote ‘We Fight,’ I thought it was just about the music scene that I came up in — a place where people who’d never quite fit in anywhere felt they actually belonged,” Carrabba said in a statement. “When we began playing the song live on our summer tour, I realized that ‘We Fight’ held a much broader meaning. It’s a song for people who, in spite of their differences, can find common ground in their convictions and foster those into something bigger than themselves. That, to me, is something worth fighting for.”

Dashboard debuted with Swiss Army Romance in 2000 and quickly became a major figure in the emo music scene. Carrabba has been teasing new music for years, and in 2016, dropped an acoustic song titled “May.”

Hear “We Fight” above and check out the cover and tracklist for Crooked Shadows, out Feb. 9 on Fueled by Ramen, below.

  1. We Fight
  2. Catch You
  3. About Us
  4. Heart Beat Here
  5. Belong
  6. Crooked Shadows
  7. Open My Eyes
  8. Be Alright
  9. Just What To Say

  • Music
Complete Coverage