The singer announces new LP 'Lullaby Girl,' due Oct. 6

Lisa Loeb
Credit: Frances Lacuzzi

Lisa Loeb wants to help you rest. “Sleep is one of my top priorities,” she admits. “I do a lot of different projects and travel a lot and so I end up making lists of priorities a lot and family is the first one, but the second one really is health, which means that my nighttime sleep and then naps are really important.”

Fittingly then, on Oct. 6, Loeb will release a brand new collection of lullabies via her new LP, Lullaby Girl, which EW can exclusively announce today with the premiere of the first cut, “Be My Baby,” below.

“You have to be in a place where you can actually feel like a human from moment to moment,” she says of the set’s aim. “This sort of plays into that, bringing you to a mindful place where you can take a breath, you know?”

And while you’d be forgiven for the suspicion as Loeb has solidified herself a premier purveyor of kids albums, these aren’t just coos meant for the child in your life. Instead, she says of the jazzy set, “It’s really just like the entertainment when I was a kid in the ’70s. It’s made for grown-ups but kids might enjoy it.”

Across the record’s 13 tracks, Loeb and pianist Larry Goldings, who has played with James Taylor and John Mayer, take on classics like Dionne Warwick’s “What the World Needs Now Is Love,” the Five Stairsteps’ “Ooh Child,” and Fleetwood Mac’s “Don’t Stop.” “When we were choosing the songs for this record, we started thinking about [them] from a different perspective,” she says of how they planned to update all the arrangements, like taking “The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow” from a march to a waltz for a warmer, more soothing effect or adding entrancing ambiance to “All the Pretty Horses.”

She says, “I wanted to take some of the songs a bit out of their context and bring out the messages of positivity.” We say, mission accomplished.

“Be My Baby” is streaming above. Lullaby Girl will be available exclusively on Oct. 6 via Amazon Music. You can pre-order the set here. The full track list is embedded below.

Track List:

1. “Be My Baby”
2. “Don’t Stop Thinking About Tomorrow”
3. “Close Your Eyes”
4. “Dream A Little Dream”
5. “In My Room”
6. “O-o-h Child”
7. “Rainbow Connection”
8. “All The Pretty Horses”
9. “Lullaby Girl”
10. “Inch Worm”
11. “What The World Needs Now”
12. “Dream Is A Wish”
13. “Tomorrow”