Pusha T, Desiigner, X Ambassadors, and more are featured in the series pairing them with artists from the six countries affected by President Trump's travel ban

By Maureen Lee Lenker
July 06, 2017 at 10:00 AM EDT

Spotify is getting political.

The music streaming service announced Thursday it is launching the “musical movement” I’m With the Banned,an original series that will include a documentary and new music and video content from six American musicians paired with artists hailing from each of the six Muslim-majority countries targeted by the president’s partially enacted travel ban.

Spotify paired K.Flay, Pusha T, Desiigner, X Ambassador’s Sam Harris, BJ The Chicago Kid, and Blue Note’s Dr. Lonnie Smith with the artists from Iran, Syria, Somalia, Yemen, Sudan, and Libya to create music and “amplify the voices of people and communities that have been silenced,” according to a press release.

Filmed in Toronto to circumvent the restrictions of the travel ban, the new tracks include: Iran’s Kasra V feat. K.Flay – “Justify You;” Syria’s Moh Flow feat. Pusha T – “Options;” Somalia’s Waayaha Cusub feat. Desiigner – “Durbaan Ka li Tuma;” Yemen’s Methal feat. X Ambassadors – “Cycles;” Sudan’s Sufyvn feat. BJ The Chicago Kid – “Thinking ‘Bout You (Sleepless in Cairo);” and Libya’s Ahmed Fakroun feat. Dr. Lonnie Smith – “Salam.”

Though the full-length documentary will not debut until the fall, the enhanced playlists featuring new music and original video content highlighting the artists from the banned countries is available now. Both the documentary and the shorter video content will focus on the story of the artist from the banned country, tracking their journey with music in their personal lives and the process of creating a new song with their American collaborator.