Dolly Parton, Eagles of Death Metal collaborations are coming

By Joey Nolfi
July 06, 2017 at 11:58 AM EDT
  • Music

Kesha is poised to let her creative colors shine on her first new album in nearly five years.

The 30-year-old pop star announced Thursday that her new album, Rainbow, will be released on Aug. 11 and feature collaborations with Dolly Parton, Eagles of Death Metal, and The Dap-Kings Horns.

Rainbow marks a new beginning for Kesha, one based around inner strength and musical exploration,” a press release reads.

Speaking on the album’s influence in an essay for Lena Dunham’s Lenny Letter, Kesha further explains: “In the past couple of years, I have grown into a strong, independent woman. I have realized through this long journey of ups and downs that if I’m lucky enough to have a voice that people listen to, then I should use it for good and for truth. I’ve battled intense anxiety and depression, a relentless eating disorder, and all the other basic bullshit that comes with being human. I know I’m not alone in that battle. Finding the strength to come forward about these things is not easy, but I want to help others who are going through tough times.”

Shorefire Media

Fourteen tracks are currently slated to appear on Rainbow, with Eagles of Death Metal — the rock band on stage at Paris’ Bataclan concert hall when terrorists attacked and killed dozens of audience members on Nov. 13, 2015 — assisting on two tracks, while Parton pairs with Kesha for a cover of her hit “Old Flames (Can’t Hold a Candle to You),” which the singer-songwriter’s mother, Pebe Sebert, co-wrote for Parton in 1980. Ben Folds produced the LP’s title tune alongside Kesha, with Ricky Reed producing and co-writing additional album cuts.

Rainbow marks Kesha’s first album since December 2012, when her second full-length album, Warrior, debut at No. 6 on the Billboard 200.

Also on Thursday, Kesha unveiled Rainbow‘s lead single, “Praying,” as well as the song’s Jonas Åkerlund-directed music video. Ryan Lewis (of Macklemore & Ryan Lewis fame) produced the emotional ballad, the lyrics for which seemingly reference her legal battle with producer Dr. Luke, whom she claimed sexually assaulted her throughout their multi-year working relationship under Sony’s Kemosabe label. (Dr. Luke has vehemently denied the allegations.) Kesha wrote the track with Lewis, Ben Abraham, and Andrew Joslyn.

Rainbow is out Aug. 11. Check out the album’s full track listing below and its cover art above.

1. “Bastards”
2. “Let ‘Em Talk” (feat. Eagles of Death Metal)
3. “Woman” (feat. The Dap-Kings Horns)
4. “Hymn”
5. “Praying”
6. “Learn To Let Go”
7. “Finding You”
8. “Rainbow”
9. “Hunt You Down”
10. “Boogie Feet” (feat. Eagles of Death Metal)
11. “Boots”
12. “Old Flames (Can’t Hold a Candle to You)” [feat. Dolly Parton]
13. “Godzilla”
14. “Spaceship”


  • Music