About Your Privacy on this Site
Welcome! To bring you the best content on our sites and applications, Meredith partners with third party advertisers to serve digital ads, including personalized digital ads. Those advertisers use tracking technologies to collect information about your activity on our sites and applications and across the Internet and your other apps and devices.
You always have the choice to experience our sites without personalized advertising based on your web browsing activity by visiting the DAA’s Consumer Choice page, the NAI's website, and/or the EU online choices page, from each of your browsers or devices. To avoid personalized advertising based on your mobile app activity, you can install the DAA’s AppChoices app here. You can find much more information about your privacy choices in our privacy policy. Even if you choose not to have your activity tracked by third parties for advertising services, you will still see non-personalized ads on our sites and applications. By clicking continue below and using our sites or applications, you agree that we and our third party advertisers can:
  • transfer your data to the United States or other countries; and
  • process and share your data so that we and third parties may serve you with personalized ads, subject to your choices as described above and in our privacy policy.
Entertainment Weekly


Cannes awards top Palme d’or prize to Bong Joon-ho's Parasite

Courtesy of NEON CJ Entertainment

Posted on

Believe the hype. Gisaengchung (Parasite), the critically lauded drama from Snowpiercer and Okja director Bong Joon-ho, just won the coveted Palme d’or award at the 2019 Cannes Film Festival, barring Quentin Tarantino’s Once Upon a Time in Hollywood from the top honor.

The competition jury, led by Birdman‘s Alejandro González Iñárritu (a previous Cannes Best Director winner for Babel), announced the award winners on Saturday. Elle Fanning, Maimouna N’Diaye, Kelly Reichardt, Enki Bilal, Alice Rohrwacher, Robin Campillo, Yorgos Lanthimos, and Paweł Pawlikowski (last year’s Cannes Best Director winner for Cold War) also served on the jury.

According to Iñárritu, the decision to give the Palme d’or to Parasite was “unanimous.” Previous winners include Hirokazu Kore-eda’s Shoplifters in 2018, Ruben Östlund’s The Square in 2017, and Ken Loach’s I, Daniel Blake in 2016.

The film follows Ki-woo, the eldest son of his down-on-their-luck family, who is introduced to the wealthy Park family for a potential well-paid tutoring job. The meeting leads to a collision of both families and an unexpected incident. In a statement from the director, Joon-ho asked critics to refrain from unveiling major spoilers for future audiences.

“For people of different circumstances to live together in the same space is not easy,” he said of Parasite. “It is increasingly the case in this sad world that humane relationships based on co-existence or symbiosis cannot hold, and one group is pushed into a parasitic relationship with another. In the midst of such a world, who can point their finger at a struggling family, locked in a fight for survival, and call them parasites? It’s not that they were parasites from the start. They are our neighbors, friends and colleagues, who have merely been pushed to the edge of a precipice. As a depiction of ordinary people who fall into an unavoidable commotion, this film is: a comedy without clowns, a tragedy without villains, all leading to a violent tangle and a headlong plunge down the stairs. You are all invited to this unstoppably fierce tragicomedy.”

Tarantino’s star-studded new film, meanwhile, didn’t win anything.

Emily Beecham won the Best Actress award for Little Joe, while Antonio Banderas won Best Actor for Pain & Glory. The Young Ahmed co-directors Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne won Best Director, and Best Screenplay went to Céline Sciamma’s Portrait of a Lady on Fire.

See the winners below.

Palme d’Or: Gisaengchung (Parasite), Bong Joon-ho

Grand Prix: Atlantique (Atlantics), Mati Diop

Best Director: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, Le Jeune Ahmed (The Young Ahmed)

Jury Prize: Tie between Les Misérables (Ladj Ly) and Bacurau (Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles)

Best Actor: Antonio Banderas, Dolor y Gloria (Pain & Glory)

Best Actress: Emily Beecham, Little Joe

Best Screenplay: Portrait de la Jeune Fille en Feu (Portrait of a Lady on Fire), Céline Sciamma

Special Mention of the Jury: It Must Be Heaven, Elia Suleiman

Camera d’Or: Nuestras Madres (Our Mothers), César Díaz

Queer Palm (Feature): Portrait de la Jeune Fille en Feu (Portrait of a Lady on Fire), Céline Sciamma

Short Film Palme d’Or: “The Distance Between Us and the Sky,” Vasilis Kekatos

Special Distinction of the Jury: “Monstruo Dios” (“Monster God”), Agustina San

Queer Palm (Short): “The Distance Between Us and the Sky,” Vasilis Kekatos

Related content:

Henry Jaglom
Complete Coverage