Plus: details about the two-disc soundtrack for the Stephen King adaptation

The only thing more disturbing than a bloodthirsty supernatural clown is a bloodthirsty supernatural clown with his own creepy theme music. The new big-screen adaptation of Stephen King’s It offers just that, and EW has an exclusive preview of two tracks from composer Benjamin Wallfisch’s haunting score.

The first song, “Pennywise’s Tower,” name-drops the evil creature played by Bill Skarsgård and perhaps hints at his lair; the second track, “You’ll Float Too,” takes its title from one of Pennywise’s sinister promises to the youths of Derry, Maine.

Wallfisch, a lifelong King fan whose composing credits include Annabelle: Creation and the upcoming Blade Runner 2049, said in a statement about working on It, “Every now and again, you come across a movie where the storytelling is so powerful, the subtext so visceral, the synergy between director, narrative and actors so palpable, that as a composer you can feel the music being energized by something so much bigger than what’s just on the screen.”

He continued, “Creating a score to tell the story of a shapeshifting antagonist of unimaginable evil that can only be defeated when a group of individuals come together as one required metamorphic themes, extremes of sonic irreverence and heartfelt quiet, and, most importantly, a musical language that strived to be constantly informed by the profound emotional truth driving the heartbeat of the filmmaking.”

Wallfisch’s 38-song original soundtrack will be released on double CD and digital formats, followed by vinyl picture disc and double vinyl versions (with 18 and 29 tracks, respectively).

The CD and digital versions will be released Sept. 8, the same day It opens in theaters, while the special vinyl editions are due Oct. 27. The soundtrack is available for pre-order now, and the full track list is compiled below. (Songs marked * are included on the double vinyl version, and those marked + are on the vinyl picture disc version.)


1. Every 27 Years*+
2. Paper Boat*+
3. Georgie, Meet Pennywise*+
4. Derry*+
5. River Chase*+
6. Egg Boy*
7. Beverly*+
8. Come Join The Clown, Eds*
9. You’ll Float Too*
10. Shape Shifter
11. Hockstetter Attack
12. Haircut
13. Derry History
14. January Embers
15. Saving Mike
16. This Is Not A Dream
17. Slideshow*
18. Georgie’s Theme*
19. He Didn’t Stutter Once
20. 29 Neibolt Street*+
21. Time To Float*+
22. It’s What It Wants
23. You’ll Die If You Try*
24. Return to Neibolt*+
25. Into The Well*+
26. Pennywise’s Tower*+
27. Deadlights*
28. Searching For Stanley*
29. Saving Beverly*
30. Georgie Found*+
31. Transformation*+
32. Feed On Your Fear*+
33. Welcome To The Losers Club*+
34. Yellow Raincoat*+
35. Blood Oath*+
36. Kiss*+
37. Every 27 Years (reprise)*
38. Epilogue — The Pennywise Dance*

  • TV Show