By Oliver Gettell
June 23, 2017 at 09:30 AM EDT
Meredith has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though Meredith may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links.
Credit: Warner Bros.
  • Movie

Composer Hans Zimmer and filmmaker Christopher Nolan journeyed to the stars in Interstellar, plumbed the depths of the subconscious mind in Inception, and brought superheroes and villains to life in the Dark Knight trilogy. With their latest collaboration, Dunkirk, they’re exploring the chaos and courage of World War II, and EW has some exclusive details about the film’s soundtrack.

Set for release July 21, the same day Dunkirk hits theaters, Zimmer’s score plays a key role in setting the tone and driving the narrative, according to Nolan.

“Dunkirk is one of the greatest suspense stories of all time, and our film needed a score to reflect that and to propel the audience through a telling of this story that is more thriller than war film,” the director said in a statement. “Hans’ unique score drives the visceral sense of action the film needs to put the audience right into the story, using images, sound, and music.”

Envisioned as a triptych, Dunkirk recounts the desperate evacuation of Allied soldiers from the titular French seaport through the eyes of an inexperienced soldier (newcomer Fionn Whitehead), a fighter pilot (Tom Hardy), and a civilian at sea (Mark Rylance).

The Dunkirk soundtrack is available for pre-order now. See the album artwork and tracklist below.

Zimmer is on tour through Europe and U.S. this year; more info is available here.

Credit: Warner Bros.

1. The Mole
2. We Need Our Army Back
3. Shivering Soldier
4. Supermarine
5. The Tide
6. Regimental Brothers
7. Impulse
8. Home
9. The Oil
10. Variation 15 (Dunkirk)
11. End Titles


  • Movie
  • PG-13
  • Christopher Nolan