Kevin Mazur/WireImage
February 23, 2017 at 02:00 PM EST

Sometimes the most obvious choice is the best choice.

EW can exclusively reveal that the the 44th Chaplin Award, given this year to Robert De Niro, will be presented by the actor’s career-long collaborator Martin Scorsese. The Film Society of Lincoln Center honors one person every year for his or her contribution to the arts, complete with a festive event and retrospective screening schedule. Tickets to the May 8 gala are available here.

The announcement comes on the heels of news this week that Netflix will distribute Scorsese’s next film The Irishman, his first movie with De Niro since 1995’s Casino. Their other collaborations include the classics Raging Bull, Taxi Driver, Mean Streets, The King of Comedy and Goodfellas. Those films, plus six more, will be screened from April 12-19 at New York’s Film Society of Lincoln Center.

Other presenters scheduled to honor De Niro include the following, with quotes provided by the Film Society:

Meryl Streep (Falling in Love and Marvin’s Room costar): “Robert De Niro has provided American film with some of the most indelible characters in its history. Proud to join my colleagues in honoring him with the Chaplin Award.”

Whoopi Goldberg (longtime friend): “He is generous, shy and steadfast, and I am so proud that we are friends.”

Ben Stiller (Meet the Parents costar): “Robert De Niro represents all that great film acting is. He is a personal icon, and over the years I feel fortunate to have gotten to know him as a good friend and also someone who scares the hell out of me. Love you Bob.”

Barry Levinson (Wag the Dog director): “What adjectives do you use to describe a great actor? The shorthand version would be to say, ‘like Robert De Niro.'”

The Film Society’s Annual Gala began in 1972 and has been presented to many of the film industry’s most notable talents, including Scorsese, Streep, Alfred Hitchcock, Bette Davis, Robert Altman, Diane Keaton, Tom Hanks, Sidney Poitier, Barbra Streisand, and Robert Redford. Last year’s recipient was Morgan Freeman.

You May Like