Third time’s the charm for Ewan McGregor. The Scottish actor won his first ever Golden Globe on his third nomination for his work on Fargo at the 75th annual ceremony Sunday evening in Los Angeles.

“This is really lovely,” McGregor said in his acceptance speech, before thanking series creator Noah Hawley and his costars.

“I’ve always loved being an actor and I love hanging out with actors and I got amazing actors to work with on this,” he said. “There wouldn’t have been any Emmett Stussy without David Thewlis and Michael Stuhlbarg and Carrie Coon, and there would have been no Ray without Mary Elizabeth Winstead.”

He also thanked wife Eve Mavrakis, “who always stood by me for 22 years,” and their four children. (It was reported in October that McGregor and Mavrakis had split, amid news that he was spotted kissing Winstead, his Fargo costar.)

McGregor underwent a striking transformation to play brothers Ray and Emmit Stussy on the FX anthology series (and also made a small voice cameo as an android’s scientist companion in a trippy animated segment). Many felt McGregor was “unrecognizable” in the dual role, and the Golden Globe for best actor in a limited series or TV movie comes to him for two distinct performances for the price of one.

His two prior nominations were for his work in the films Moulin Rouge and Salmon Fishing in the Yemen.

On Sunday he beat out fellow nominees Robert De Niro (The Wizard of Lies), Jude Law (The Young Pope), Kyle MacLachlan (Twin Peaks), and Geoffrey Rush (Genius).

Read the full list of 2018 Golden Globe winners here.

Episode Recaps

An anthology series Inspired by the 1996 Coen Brothers film of the same name.
  • TV Show
  • 4

Comments have been disabled on this post