• Movie

Allison Janney has gone for gold. The actress took home a Golden Globe Award for her supporting role in the darkly comic Tonya Harding biopic I, Tonya at the 75th annual ceremony in Los Angeles on Sunday evening.

“I would just like to thank Tonya [Harding] for sharing her story,” Janney said during her acceptance speech, pointing out the Olympic figure skater sitting in the audience. “What I love about this movie… what this movie did is tell a story about class in America, tell a story about the disenfranchised, tell the story about a woman who was not embraced for her individuality, tell a story about truth and the perception of truth in the media and truths we all tell ourselves…. It’s an extraordinary movie and I’m so proud of it.”

Janney also honored Margot Robbie — “She’s a quadruple threat. I don’t even know.” — and her other key costar. “Of course, I owe this all to a bird named Little Man in Georgia,” she concluded her speech.

Janney won for her portrayal of LaVona Golden, Harding’s cruel, abusive mother, who pushes her daughter (played by Margot Robbie) into professional figure skating through a series of questionable tactics. Craig Gillespie directed the film.

Janney has been nominated for six Golden Globes in all, though this marked her first nomination in the motion picture realm. She was previously nominated four times for her portrayal of C.J. Cregg on The West Wing, as well as once for her work on Mom, which has also won her several Emmy awards. This is her first Globes win despite seven Emmy wins.

“It feels pretty great,” Janney said backstage after receiving the trophy. “I’ve been here a number of times and never won. I feel very proud of this one. I feel proud to be in the film arena and to be singled out for my individual work… I feel pretty proud and especially having a friendship with the screenwriter for so many years is extra meaningful to me in this moment.”

The veteran actress beat out fellow nominees Mary J. Blige (Mudbound), Hong Chau (Downsizing), Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird), and Octavia Spencer (The Shape of Water).

View the full 2018 Golden Globes winners list here.

I Tonya
  • Movie
  • Craig Gillespie