Miley Cyrus, John Legend, Keith Urban, RuPaul's Drag Race queens, and more are turning to streaming platforms to connect with their fans directly.

By Omar SanchezJoey Nolfi and Rosy Cordero
Updated March 17, 2020 at 02:47 PM EDT

With a growing number of entertainment venues closing due to the coronavirus pandemic, from movie theaters to concerts and festivals, more and more stars are going out of their way to still give us what we want.

EW has compiled a list of stars like Miley Cyrus, Keith Urban, John Legend, RuPaul's Drag Race queens, and more who are hopping on Instagram Live, Periscope, and other streaming platforms to reach their fans live during social distancing. Here are some to check out:

Together At Home: WHO-Global Citizen Solidarity Sessions with Chris Martin, John Legend, Miguel, Shawn Mendes, Camila Cabello, and more

In collaboration with the World Health Organization and Global Citizen, musicians are helping unite people all over the world with iconic songs played right from the comfort of their homes to stream into yours. The inaugural #TogetherAtHome concert started with Chris Martin of  Coldplay, who performed "Yellow," "Green Eyes," "Sky Full of Stars," and "Viva La Vida."

Other notable performances include John Legend, Charlie Puth, Niall HoranCommon, and Juanes.

Coming up on Sunday, March 29: Caitlyn Smith to perform on her Instagram Live at Noon ET/9 a.m. PT, Maye Musk to perform a reading on her Instagram Live at 3 p.m. ET/Noon PT /, Dove Cameron to perform on her Instagram Live at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT, Tasha Cobbs Leonard to perform on her Instagram Live at 5 p.m. ET /2 p.m. PT, and Michael Franti to perform on his Instagram Live at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

And on Monday, March 30: Tayla Parx to perform on her Instagram Live at 3 p.m. ET/Noon PT, Alaina Castillo to perform on her Instagram Live at 3 p.m. ET/Noon PT, and Lennon Stella to perform on her Instagram Live at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

Other livestream concerts to look out for:

On March 27: Dierks Bentley will perform via his Facebook and Instagram Live at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT, Elvis Costello will be raising funds for the NHS at 7 p.m. GMT/3 p.m. ET via this link, Young of SOJA at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT via this link, Craig Morgan at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT via this link, Rhett Miller at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT via this link, Lauren Jenkins at 3 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT via this link, Bonobo at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT via this link, and Griz at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT via this link.

Noah Kahan will be hosting Couch-Ella 2020 with performances from Kahan, Quinn XCII, MT. Joy, Chelsea Cutler, Corey Harper, and Wingtip from 8-11 p.m. ET via this link.

RuPaul's Drag Race Werq the World Live Stream

Until Miss Corona sashays away, the queens of RuPaul's Drag Race are here to death-drop into your living rooms as you steer clear of the nightlife scene. Voss Events has gathered a dazzling collection of Drag Race alums for the Werq the World Live Stream, a digital version of its popular traveling concert series affiliated with VH1's Emmy-winning reality competition series.

Hosted by Drag Race season 6 winner Bianca Del Rio and legendary drag superstar Lady Bunny in New York City, the live festival serves as a global benefit to help support drag entertainers who've lost income due to the worldwide closures of bars, restaurants, nightclubs, and other performance spaces in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

Queens participating include Aquaria, Asia O'Hara, Kameron Michaels, Kim Chi, Plastique Tiara, Vanessa "Miss Vanjie" Mateo, Violet Chachki, reigning Drag Race champion Yvie Oddly, and current season 12 competitor Gigi Goode. Each star — who will perform for the benefit but will also be receiving tips — will take over an new empty venue around the united states for live broadcasts that promise to mirror the high production value of a traveling Werq the World tour.

The special airs at 5:00 p.m. PT/8:00 p.m. ET/12:00 a.m. GMT on Saturday, April 4, and can be streamed from any device at VossEvents.com. A recorded version will be available two days later in other time zones. The first 5,000 fans who register for access will receive a pass for a discounted rate of $7.99.

TikTok #HappyatHome

TikTok wants to help make self isolation a little less boring with the help of some of the biggest stars in Hollywood. Their new series #HappyAtHome: Live! is the musical app's first ever livestream series, and it'll stream each workday starting at 8 p.m ET/5 p.m. PT.

The themes for this week were as follows:

Motivation Monday: Inspirational talks, workouts, dance classes, and cooking tips from stars like Tyra Banks, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Derek Hough, and So You Think You Can Dance stars tWitch and Allison Holker.

Kick Back Tuesday: Some of TikTok's most popular creators will host virtual game nights, makeup tutorials, and chat sessions. Some who've already committed include Loren Gray, Charli D'Amelio, Adam Ray, and Addison Rae.

Show and Tell Wednesday: Visit To All the Boys: P.S. I Still Love You star Jordan Fisher, do magic tricks with Zach King, keep it real with actress Tracee Ellis Ross, and more.

EduTok Thursday: Dr. Phil and Bill Nye will host thoughtful conversations, and give advice and life tips.

Sound Check Friday: Listen to Alicia Keys, Jason Derulo, Megan Thee Stallion, Troye Sivan, Meghan Trainor, Yungblud, Hailee Steinfeld, Lauv, Kelsea Ballerini, DJ Khaled, and more.

At Home With Tidal

Music streamer Tidal is digging into their archives to provide free, daily Tidal-exclusive livestreams from some of the hottest artists from various genres. The party began on Wednesday, March 25 at noon ET, with 12-hour daily livestreams available to members and non-members alike on TIDAL.com/AtHome.

Wednesday, March 25 was all about Latin music and will feature Jennifer Lopez, Daddy Yankee, CNCO, Romeo Santos, and more. Thursday is pop music with Lizzo, Rosalia, The Chainsmokers, Bazzi, Dermot Kennedy, and more. Glow sticks will be required for Friday's electronic party featuring deadmau5, Daft Punk, Kaskade, Marshmello, Cashmere Cat, and more.

The virtual party doesn't stop on the weekend! Tidal goes into hip hop hard on Saturday with the likes of Tidal founder JAY-Z,  J. Cole, Lil Wayne, Meek Mill, Gunna, City Girls, and 21 Savage. And the slow down on Sunday is R&B focused on music from Beyoncé, Rihanna, Ari Lennox, Trey Songz, Jorja Smith, and H.E.R.

Tidal's Chief Content Officer Elliott Wilson is also hosting daily chats with talent via their official Instagram page. On Friday. March 27, he'll be speaking with Big Sean at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT, and Boi at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT.

The company is also extending a deal on memberships, 4 months on any plan for $4.00 now through April 15.

Opening Act

Opening Act is hosted a live virtual gathering on Wed, March 25 starting at 6 p.m. ET with some of the hottest Broadway names confirmed to attend. Billy Porter, Anthony Ramos, Aja Naomi King, James Monroe Iglehart, Jared Gertner, and Kenny Leon will all be there.

This virtual gathering serves as the organization’s way of raising critical funds to continue providing life-changing theater programs to students in these unprecedented times.

Miley Cyrus

Monday through Friday at 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT, Cyrus fans will be able to watch Bright Minded: Live, a series of conversations that she will have with guests to hopefully bring positivity during an uncertain time. Confirmed guests already include New York Times bestselling author, Dr. Daniel Amens, and singer/bestie Demi Lovato.

"Me and my guests using our influence and platform to bring optimism connecting from afar in a time of social distancing..." Cyrus wrote in an Instagram story on Monday.

Jane Fonda

Morgan Lieberman/WireImage

Grace and Frankie star Jane Fonda is moving her weekly Fire Drill Fridays online as part of the move to social distancing. Fire Drill Fridays started late last year, gathering demonstrators at the nation's capital who are advocating for the government to take action on a Green New Deal.

"Join us by texting JANE to 877-877 and we’ll send you weekly links to connect live with Jane and others every Friday as we continue to build a mass movement demanding climate justice," the announcement on their Facebook page reads.

Keith Urban

Support your significant other during the coronavirus pandemic like Nicole Kidman on a stool during Keith Urban's concert livestream.

Lin-Manuel Miranda

On March 15, Hamilton creator Lin-Manuel Miranda began a Periscope video performing some of the musical's classic hits to raise money for The Actors Fund and Broadway Cares.

Ben Platt

Dubbed #Quarantunes, The Politician star Ben Platt and friends are hosting a virtual dance party on Tuesday, March 17 at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT and will require attendees to download the free app Stationhead to listen along to his playlist.

Mike Birbiglia

To raise money for comedy club staff that may be out of work due to the coronavirus pandemic, comedian Mike Birbiglia is inviting comedians to work on some of their new jokes on his IG Live. Recent guests have included John Mulaney, Jaqueline Novak, and on Monday, Nikki Glaser will be on at 2 p.m. ET.

Stephen Amell

If you want to see your favorite Green Arrow star chat up his fans, check out Stephen Amell's Instagram live every day at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT where he'll be answering fan questions. Maybe you'll get in on the action too!

Nina West

Courtesy of PAL Public Relations

RuPaul's Drag Race's kindest queen follows up her children's music EP Drag IS Magic with the Instagram Live broadcast of Story Time With Nina, in which season 11's Miss Congeniality will read some of her favorite books to your quarantined kids with a touch of drag magic.

“Come one, come all, children young and young at heart! No judgment here!" West said of the series, which debuts on West's Instagram beginning March 18 at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT. "We could all use some extra magic during this difficult time and I’m thrilled to be able to read some of my favorite stories with all of you!”

Alyson Stoner

Dancer and actress Alyson Stoner is hosting mental health check-ins on her Instagram twice a day during the quarantine. The first of the day will include a simple meditation at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT, and then the second will is dubbed a "mindful movement series" that starts at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

Finn Wolfhard 

Stranger Things star Finn Wolfhard will be performing live on March 24 at 1 p.m. PST.

Yo-Yo Ma

Classical musician Yo-Yo Ma is starting an Instagram series called #SongsOfComfort. On March 14, he began with Dvorak's "Going Home," and on Monday he performed the Sarabande from Bach’s Cello Suite No. 3.

Juanes and Alejandro Sanz

"La Camisa Negra" singer Juanes and Alejandro Sanz came together for an at home concert dubbed #LaGiraSeQuedaEnCasa. Songs they performed include "Es Por Ti," "A Dios Le Pido" and Sanz's 1997 earworm "Corazon Partio."

Hunter Hayes

Due to his postponed tour, country artist Hunter Hayes will be doing a concert a week on his YouTube channel.

Christine and the Queens + Charli XCX

French singer Christine and the Queens (Héloïse Adelaïde Letissier) is hosting live music sessions on Instagram, including an upcoming chat with Charli XCX of "Boom Clap" and "I Love It" fame.

Jewel 

Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter Jewel will be hosting an at-home concert on Saturday, March 21, at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT. Live From San Quarantine: A Livestream Concert will be available via her Instagram and Facebook pages. The concert aims to raise funds to benefit her Never Broken program powered by the Inspiring Children Foundation.

Chloe x Halle

Although Disney's live-action movie The Little Mermaid has halted production, star Halle Bailey is still keeping busy. She and her sister Chloe, together known as R&B duo Chloe x Halle, will be performing a mini-concert for their fans via Instagram on Tuesday, March 23, at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m PT. "Staying strong together," the pair wrote on Twitter.

Big Mouth cast

Take a break from binging Big Mouth on Netflix to watch the cast, including Nick Kroll, John Mulaney, Maya Rudolph, and more, do a live table read via YouTube at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on Friday, March 27.

For the latest information on coronavirus (COVID-19), including how to protect yourself and what to do if you think you are sick, please visit coronavirus.gov.

Related: 

Advertisement

Comments