See which actors other actors love the most at the 28th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards, where CODA, Succession, Squid Game, and more won big.

Actors: they love other actors! They proved just that when the 2022 Screen Actors Guild Awards winners were announced Sunday evening across the acting guild's live ceremony, where the industry union lifted up major Oscar contenders and popular TV series — with a healthy dose of surprises thrown in.

Apple TV+'s Best Picture-nominated CODA earned the biggest award of the night, with Marlee Matlin — the only deaf actress in history to have won an Oscar — praising SAG for validating the work of deaf performers in her emotional acceptance speech (as spoken through an ASL interpreter).

Jessica Chastain (The Eyes of Tammy Faye) and Will Smith (King Richard) both received huge boosts to their respective Oscar campaigns with lead victories at the SAG Awards, with Ariana DeBose (West Side Story) taking home the Supporting Actress trophy. Though The Power of the Dog's Kodi Smit-McPhee was expected to take the solo Supporting Actor win, CODA's Troy Kotsur instead pulled off a category upset to become the first deaf actor to win an individual SAG Award.

On the TV side, Squid Game earned three wins, including two solo victories for stars Lee Jung-jae and HoYeon Jung, while Netflix's Korean action-thriller series' stunt ensemble was also honored. The casts of HBO's Succession and Apple TV+'s Ted Lasso triumphed in their respective dramatic and comedic categories, while Jean Smart (Hacks), Kate Winslet (Mare of Easttown), Michael Keaton (Dopestick), and Jason Sudeikis (Ted Lasso) were also among the notable individual TV winners.

HoYeon Jung
HoYeon Jung wins at the 2022 SAG Awards.
| Credit: Rich Fury/Getty Images

The largest Hollywood union on the awards trail, SAG represents over 100,000 working performers across a variety of media, and with strong crossover membership into the Academy, the group is often considered a harbinger of Oscar tastes on the awards season horizon.

This year, among the film awards race, many of SAG's top choices deviated from the Academy's eventual nominees, including a Best Actress set that snubbed Kristen Stewart (Spencer) in favor of Lady Gaga (House of Gucci), though Oscar ultimately snubbed Mother Monster from its lineup.

Oscar Best Picture frontrunner The Power of the Dog was also noticeably absent from SAG's category for film ensembles, despite three of its actors (Benedict Cumberbatch, Kirsten Dunst, Kodi Smit-McPhee) garnering individual nominations. Eventual Best Picture nominees like Belfast, CODA, King Richard, and Don't Look Up were, however, included among the SAG Awards's top category, as was House of Gucci.

Jessica Chastain; Will Smith; Ariana DeBose
Jessica Chastain, Will Smith, Ariana DeBose, more are the big winners at the 2022 SAG Awards.
| Credit: Rich Fury/Getty Images (3)

Since the SAG Awards' first ceremony in 1995, 19 lead actresses have won both the SAG Award and the corresponding Oscar, though last year's guild champion Viola Davis (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom) ultimately lost the Oscar to Nomadland's Frances McDormand. The total number of winners jumps to 22 for Best Actor contenders, but, again, last year's SAG Awards winner for Best Actor, the late Chadwick Boseman (also for Ma Rainey's Black Bottom) lost the Oscar to The Father star Anthony Hopkins. On the supporting side, both of 2021's SAG Awards winners (Daniel Kaluuya for Judas and the Black Messiah and Minari's Yuh-Jung Youn) repeated at the Oscars.

Across the same period, SAG has only awarded 12 of the Academy's Best Picture winners with its ensemble honor, not including last year's winner The Trial of the Chicago 7. Upon winning Best Picture at the 2021 Oscars, Chloé Zhao's Nomadland became only the fourth film in history (in addition to BraveheartGreen Book, and The Shape of Water) to win the Academy's top category despite missing out on an ensemble nomination from SAG. The Power of the Dog looks to have a good chance at repeating that trend at the March 27 Oscars.

See the full list of 2022 SAG Awards winners in the film and TV categories below. Follow our full coverage of the 2022 SAG Awards.

Coda Cast 28th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards
Marlee Matlin accepts the SAG Awards ensemble prize with her 'CODA' cast.


Motion Picture Cast

Don't Look Up
House of Gucci
King Richard

Male Actor in a Leading Role — Motion Picture

Javier Bardem, Being the Ricardos
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power of the Dog
Andrew Garfield, Tick, Tick... Boom!
WINNER: Will Smith, King Richard
Denzel Washington, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Female Actor in a Leading Role — Motion Picture

WINNER: Jessica Chastain, The Eyes of Tammy Faye
Olivia Colman, The Lost Daughter
Lady Gaga, House of Gucci
Jennifer Hudson, Respect
Nicole Kidman, Being the Ricardos

Male Actor in a Supporting Role — Motion Picture

Ben Affleck, The Tender Bar
Bradley Cooper, Licorice Pizza
WINNER: Troy Kotsur, CODA
Jared Leto, House of Gucci
Kodi Smit-McPhee, The Power of the Dog

Female Actor in a Supporting Role — Motion Picture

Caitriona Balfe, Belfast
Cate Blanchett, Nightmare Alley
WINNER: Ariana DeBose, West Side Story
Kirsten Dunst, The Power of the Dog
Ruth Negga, Passing

Stunt Ensemble in a Motion Picture

Black Widow
The Matrix Resurrections

WINNER: No Time to Die
Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings


Drama Series Ensemble

The Handmaid's Tale
The Morning Show
Squid Game
WINNER: Succession

Comedy Series Ensemble

The Great
The Kominsky Method
Only Murders in the Building
WINNER: Ted Lasso

Male Actor in a TV Movie or Miniseries

Murray Bartlett, The White Lotus
Oscar Isaac, Scenes From a Marriage
WINNER: Michael Keaton, Dopesick
Ewan McGregor, Halston
Evan Peters, Mare of Easttown

Female Actor in a TV Movie or Miniseries

Jennifer Coolidge, The White Lotus
Cynthia Erivo, Genius
Margaret Qualley, Maid
Jean Smart, Mare of Easttown
WINNER: Kate Winslet, Mare of Easttown

Male Actor in a Drama Series

Brian Cox, Succession
Billy Crudup, The Morning Show
Kieran Culkin, Succession
WINNER: Lee Jung-jae, Squid Game
Jeremy Strong, Succession

Female Actor in a Drama Series

Jennifer Aniston, The Morning Show
Elisabeth Moss, The Handmaid's Tale
Sarah Snook, Succession
WINNER: HoYeon Jung, Squid Game
Reese Witherspoon, The Morning Show

Male Actor in a Comedy Series

Michael Douglas, The Kominsky Method
Brett Goldstein, Ted Lasso
Steve Martin, Only Murders in the Building
Martin Short, Only Murders in the Building
WINNER: Jason Sudeikis, Ted Lasso

Female Actor in a Comedy Series

Elle Fanning, The Great
Sandra Oh, The Chair
WINNER: Jean Smart, Hacks
Juno Temple, Ted Lasso
Hannah Waddingham, Ted Lasso

Stunt Ensemble in a TV Series

Cobra Kai
The Falcon and the Winter Soldier
Mare of Easttown
WINNER: Squid Game

Check out The Awardist podcast for interviews with this year's top contenders for the Oscars and more of Hollywood's biggest awards. 

Related content:

Comments have been disabled on this post