About Your Privacy on this Site
Welcome! To bring you the best content on our sites and applications, Meredith partners with third party advertisers to serve digital ads, including personalized digital ads. Those advertisers use tracking technologies to collect information about your activity on our sites and applications and across the Internet and your other apps and devices.
You always have the choice to experience our sites without personalized advertising based on your web browsing activity by visiting the DAA’s Consumer Choice page, the NAI's website, and/or the EU online choices page, from each of your browsers or devices. To avoid personalized advertising based on your mobile app activity, you can install the DAA’s AppChoices app here. You can find much more information about your privacy choices in our privacy policy. Even if you choose not to have your activity tracked by third parties for advertising services, you will still see non-personalized ads on our sites and applications. By clicking continue below and using our sites or applications, you agree that we and our third party advertisers can:
  • transfer your data to the United States or other countries; and
  • process and share your data so that we and third parties may serve you with personalized ads, subject to your choices as described above and in our privacy policy.
Entertainment Weekly


Academy invites Sterling K. Brown, Lady Gaga, Tom Holland, 842 new members to vote for Oscars

Presley Ann/Getty Images; Steve Granitz/WireImage; Gregg DeGuire/WireImage

Posted on

A staggering 842 film industry voices — including 50 percent women and 29 percent people of color — have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, the prestigious Hollywood organization which votes annually to determine Oscar winners.

Hailing from 59 countries around the world, new invitees for 2019 include Oscar-winning A Star Is Born actress-songwriter Lady Gaga, Spider-Man: Far From Home headliner Tom Holland, The Crown‘s Claire Foy, A Mighty Heart star Archie Panjabi, Crazy Rich Asians’ Gemma Chan (as well as that movie’s director, Jon M. Chu), Black Panther‘s Sterling K. Brown, Winston Duke (Us), Roma‘s Marina de Tavira (who received her first Oscar nod earlier this year), The Babadook director Jennifer Kent, Late Night helmer Nisha Ganatra, actress-filmmaker Mélanie Laurent, as well as several women representing technical branches like cinematography (Carolina Costa), editing (Anne McCabe), and writing (Gillian Flynn, Marti Noxon, Desiree Akhavan, Kay Cannon).

This year’s class, which also saw 10 branches invite more women than men, increases the Academy’s overall female membership to 32 percent — a seven-percent increase since 2015. Across the same frame, that number jumps from eight percent to 16 percent for people of color.

In 2016, the Academy announced a robust diversity initiative aimed at doubling its membership of women and other minorities by 2020, after enduring heavy criticism — including the creation of the #OscarsSoWhite social media hashtag — for nominating a crop of all-white performers in all acting categories in both 2015 and 2016, as well as for including a majority of older, white, male voters among its deciding ranks.

Last year, the Academy invited a record 928 new members, while it asked 774 industry professionals to join in 2017. If all of this year’s invitees welcome their invitations (all parties must formally accept their requests to join before becoming official members), the Academy’s membership tally will stand near 10,000.

“Change starts with writers, casting, and producing. The Academy [only functions] as a tree once it’s bloomed,” actor George Lopez, who was asked to join the Academy in 2018, previously told EW. “You have to go down to the seed and make sure that when the tree’s growing, every branch is inclusive of what our society looks like. This influx of new eyes… can get everybody to see a broader scope.”

The 2020 Oscars telecast will be held Sunday, Feb. 9. Ahead of the ceremony, Twin Peaks mastermind and Palme d’Or-winning director David LynchLast of the Mohicans actor Wes Studi, Italian filmmaker Lina Wertmüller (Seven BeautiesSwept Away), and actress Geena Davis will receive honorary Oscars at the Oct. 27 Governors Awards.

Read the full list of the Academy’s 2019 invitees here.

Related content: