About Your Privacy on this Site
Welcome! To bring you the best content on our sites and applications, Meredith partners with third party advertisers to serve digital ads, including personalized digital ads. Those advertisers use tracking technologies to collect information about your activity on our sites and applications and across the Internet and your other apps and devices.
You always have the choice to experience our sites without personalized advertising based on your web browsing activity by visiting the DAA’s Consumer Choice page, the NAI's website, and/or the EU online choices page, from each of your browsers or devices. To avoid personalized advertising based on your mobile app activity, you can install the DAA’s AppChoices app here. You can find much more information about your privacy choices in our privacy policy. Even if you choose not to have your activity tracked by third parties for advertising services, you will still see non-personalized ads on our sites and applications. By clicking continue below and using our sites or applications, you agree that we and our third party advertisers can:
  • transfer your data to the United States or other countries; and
  • process and share your data so that we and third parties may serve you with personalized ads, subject to your choices as described above and in our privacy policy.
Entertainment Weekly


2019 Producers Guild of America Awards cement Green Book as Oscar frontrunner

Patti Perret/Universal

Posted on

The Producers Guild of America Awards have established Green Book as the Best Picture Oscar frontrunner.

The Peter Farrelly-directed film took the PGA’s top honor Saturday night during a ceremony held at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles, where television programs like The Americans, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, and The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story were also honored.

On the documentary side, Won’t You Be My Neighbor? took the PGA Award, while Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse triumphed among the animated nominees.

Made up of roughly 7,000 international film, television, and new media producers, the PGA — alongside fellow industry guilds like the Directors Guild of America and the Screen Actors Guild — has deep influence in the entertainment industry, and it shares voting ranks with the Academy. This makes the industry guild one of the most reliable foretellers of Oscar tastes, particularly in the Best Picture race.

Since the group’s inaugural ceremony honoring films from 1989, every PGA winner has gone on to either win (20 titles) or receive a nomination (the remaining 10, including Gravity, which tied with 12 Years a Slave in 2014) for Best Picture Oscar. Last year’s champion The Shape of Water broke a rare two-year dry spell for PGA-Academy agreement, taking both the PGA Award and Best Picture.

Following the Academy and the PGA both broadening their number of nomination slots in 2009, the PGA has nominated between seven and nine (out of 10 total PGA nominees versus the Academy’s sliding scale between five and 10) films per year that eventually follow up with a Best Picture nod. Last year, seven PGA nominees ultimately showed up among the Academy’s nominees.

Check out the full list of 2019 PGA Award winners below.


The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Producers: Jim Burke, Charles B. Wessler, Brian Currie, Peter Farrelly, Nick Vallelonga

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures:

Producers: Morgan Neville, Nicholas Ma, Caryn Capotosto

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Producers: Avi Arad, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller, Amy Pascal, Christina Steinberg


The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Drama:

Producers: Joe Weisberg, Joel Fields, Chris Long, Graham Yost, Justin Falvey, Darryl Frank, Stephen Schiff, Mary Rae Thewlis, Tracey Scott Wilson, Peter Ackerman, Joshua Brand

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy:

Producers: Amy Sherman‐Palladino, Daniel Palladino, Dhana Rivera Gilbert, Sheila Lawrence

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television:

Producers: Ryan Murphy, Nina Jacobson, Brad Simpson, Alexis Martin Woodall, Tom Rob Smith, Daniel Minahan, Brad Falchuk, Scott Alexander, Larry Karaszewski, Chip Vucelich, Maggie Cohn, Eric Kovtun, Lou Eyrich, Eryn Krueger Mekash

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Streamed or Televised Motion Pictures:

Producers: Sarah Green, Ramin Bahrani, Michael B. Jordan, Alan Gasmer, Peter Jaysen, David Coatsworth

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia, Sandra Zweig

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

Producers: John Oliver, Tim Carvell, Liz Stanton, Jeremy Tchaban

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television:

Producers: Fenton Bailey, Randy Barbato, Tom Campbell, RuPaul Charles, Mandy Salangsang, Steven Corfe, Bruce McCoy, Michele Mills, Jacqueline Wilson, Thairin Smothers, Jen Passovoy, Lisa Steele


The Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program:

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:


Milestone Award: Toby Emmerich
Stanley Kramer Award: Jane Fonda
Visionary Award: Kenya Barris
David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures: Kevin Feige
Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television: Amy Sherman-Palladino

Related content: