'The Shape of Water,' 'Wonder Woman' also among this year's winners

I, Tonya may have been snubbed from the best costume Oscars category, but the Costume Designers Guild gave the Tonya Harding biopic gold. Starring Margot Robbie as the controversial figure skater, the film joined Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water in landing the top prizes from the organization’s 2018 awards ceremony, held in Beverly Hills, California on Tuesday night.

Jennifer Johnson took home the award for Excellence in Contemporary Film for I, Tonya, while Luis Sequiera took Excellence in Period Film for The Shape of Water.

“With all of my work, I want to love my characters, even if they’re flawed, and that reflects in how I approach the costumes,” Johnson had previously explained to EW of her work. “I wanted the costumes to not be ironic or funny in any way, so that was the hardest part. [We had] to show a real person: that was my goal, to have a sympathetic approach.”

Sequiera bested Mark Bridges (Phantom Thread), who was also nominated by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences for best costume design. Both are nominees in the Oscars category with Jacqueline Durran (twice for Beauty and the Beast and Darkest Hour), and Consolata Boyle (Victoria & Abdul).

The Designers Guild also awarded Wonder Woman with Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy FIlm, while Hulu’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Netflix’s The Crown, and HBO’s Game of Thrones scooped up the top television honors of the night.

See the full list of awards below.

Excellence in Contemporary Film
Get Out (Nadine Haders)
I, Tonya (Jennifer Johnson) — winner
Kingsman: The Golden Circle (Arianne Phillips)
Lady Bird (April Napier)
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Melissa Toth)

Excellence in Period Film
Dunkirk (Jeffrey Kurland)
The Greatest Showman (Ellen Mirojnick)
Murder on the Orient Express (Alexandra Byrne)
Phantom Thread (Mark Bridges)
The Shape of Water (Luis Sequeira) — winner

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film
Beauty and the Beast (Jacqueline Durran)
Blade Runner 2049 (Renée April)
Star Wars: The Last Jedi (Michael Kaplan)
Thor: Ragnarok (Mayes C. Rubeo)
Wonder Woman (Lindy Hemming) — winner

Excellence in Contemporary Television
American Horror Story: Cult (Sarah Evelyn Bram)
Big Little Lies (Alix Friedberg)
Grace and Frankie (Allyson B. Fanger)
The Handmaid’s Tale (Ane Crabtree) — winner
The Young Pope (Luca Canfora, Carlo Poggioli)

Excellence in Period Television
The Crown (Jane Petrie) — winner
Feud: Bette and Joan (Lou Eyrich)
GLOW (Beth Morgan)
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (Donna Zakowska)
Stranger Things (Kim Wilcox)

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television
Black Mirror: USS Callister (Maja Meschede)
Game of Thrones (Michele Clapton) — winner
Once Upon a Time (Eduardo Castro, Dan Lester)
Sleepy Hollow (Mairi Chisholm)
Star Trek: Discovery (Gersha Phillips)

Excellence in Short Form Design
Assassin’s Creed – “I Am,” Commercial (Patrik Milani)
Elton John featuring Marilyn Manson: “Tiny Dancer,” Music Video (Sara Sensoy, Dawn Ritz)
Katy Perry – “Chained to the Rhythm,” Music Video (B. Ăkerlund)
“Miu Miu Women’s Tales #14: The End of History Illusion,” Short Film (Mindy Le Brock)
P!NK – “Beautiful Trauma,” Music Video (Kim Bowen) — winner

Career Achievement Award
Joanna Johnson

Distinguished Collaborator Award
Guillermo del Toro

Distinguished Service Award
Maggie Schpak

Lacoste Spotlight Award
Kerry Washington

Wonder Woman
  • Movie
  • 141 minutes
stream service