Credit: Clay Enos/Warner Bros.; Hilary Bronwyn Gayle/HBO; STX Films

The nominees for the 30th annual USC Scripter Awards have been announced, and female-centric storytelling is well represented.

The awards, which celebrate screen adaptations of written works, boast more nominees than ever, with a three-way tie resulting in seven nominated films, including Wonder Woman and Molly’s Game. (There are six nominations on the TV side.)

The finalists were selected from 91 film and 28 television adaptations by a committee led by Scripter chair Howard Rodman, a USC professor and past president of the Writers Guild of America, West.

The nominees for film are:

  • Author André Aciman and screenwriter James Ivory for Call Me by Your Name
  • Screenwriters Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for The Disaster Artist, and authors Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell for their nonfiction book The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside ‘The Room,’ the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made
  • Screenwriters Scott Frank, Michael Green, and James Mangold, and authors Roy Thomas, Len Wein, and John Romita Sr., for Logan
  • Screenwriter James Gray and author David Grann for The Lost City of Z
  • Screenwriter Aaron Sorkin and author Molly Bloom for Molly’s Game
  • Screenwriters Virgil Williams and Dee Rees, and author Hillary Jordan for Mudbound
  • Screenwriter Allan Heinberg and author William Moulton Marston for Wonder Woman

The nominees for television are:

  • Screenwriter Sarah Polley and author Margaret Atwood for Alias Grace
  • David E. Kelley, for the episode “You Get What You Need” from Big Little Lies, and author Liane Moriarty
  • Noah Pink and Ken Biller for the episode “Einstein: Chapter One” from Genius, and author Walter Isaacson for his book Einstein: His Life and Word
  • Bruce Miller for the episode “Offred” from The Handmaid’s Tale and author Margaret Atwood
  • Peter Landesman, George C. Wolfe, and Alexander Woo for the television film The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks,and author Rebecca Skloot
  • Joe Penhall and Jennifer Haley for “Episode 10” of Mindhunter and authors John Douglas and Mark Olshaker for their nonfiction book Mindhunter: Inside the FBI’s Elite Serial Crime Unit

Winners will be announced at the 30th annual USC Scripter Awards at the University of Southern California campus on Saturday, Feb. 10.

Episode Recaps

Big Little Lies
  • TV Show
  • 2