22nd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards - Arrivals
Credit: Gregg DeGuire/WireImage
  • TV Show

Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs will not seek re-election to the board of governors at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, EW has confirmed.

The Hollywood Reporter first reported the news. Says Boone Isaacs in a statement, “It’s been my greatest honor serving on the Academy’s Board of Governors in numerous capacities for more than two decades, and it will be a privilege to provide the opportunity for new voices to have a seat at the table.”

Boone Isaacs spent four years in the job as president during a fitful time for the organization, which came under fire for its lack of diversity after nominating an all-white group of actors at the Oscars two years in a row. She also had to contend with the recent Oscar night mix-up when La La Land was accidentally named the winner of this year’s best picture Oscar instead of Moonlight, the actual award recipient.

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms before having to take a year off prior to running again. Boone Isaacs, a veteran executive from the public relations branch, was eligible for another three-year term but was not eligible to run for president again.

Boone Isaacs’ term will end in August. The Academy is set to choose a new board in June at its board meeting. According to The Hollywood Reporter, 150 Academy members have thrown their hat into the ring for possible inclusion on the board, including Get Out producer Jason Blum, actresses Whoopi Goldberg, Geena Davis, and Rita Wilson among many others.

The Oscars
  • TV Show