'Million Dollar Quartet' is now called 'Sun Records,' premieres Feb. 23
All Crops: Sun Records Still
Credit: CMT

Sun Records, the new CMT series formerly known as Million Dollar Quartet and based on the Tony Award-winning musical, is set to premiere on Thursday, Feb. 23 at 10 p.m. ET, CMT announced Wednesday.

The limited eight-part series is set in Memphis during the early days of the civil rights movement and will focus on the birth of rock ‘n’ roll, which was helped along by legendary players like Johnny Cash, Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, and Jerry Lee Lewis. The title comes from the historic Million Dollar Quartet recording sessions, which featured the aforementioned artists laying down tracks at the Sun Records Studios, and is celebrating its 60th anniversary this year. The series will track the up-and-coming artists as they discover a whole new sound influenced both by their country roots and the ’50s R&B of B.B. King, Fats Domino, Muddy Waters, and Ike Turner.

Sun Records will star Chad Michael Murray as Sun Records founder Sam Phillips, Billy Gardell as Presley’s manager Colonel Tom Parker, Drake Milligan as Presley, Kevin Fonteyne as Cash, Christian Lees as Lewis, and Kerry Holliday as Turner.

The series will share a night with CMT’s other music-set drama, the country music-based Nashville, which will have its season 5 premiere on Jan. 5. The network also recently announced the second season premiere of Still the King, a comedy starring Billy Ray Cyrus, and the pilot His Wives & Daughters.

Sun Records
  • TV Show
  • 1