'Prisoner' is out Feb 17.; hear 'Do You Still Love Me?' now

By Jessica Goodman
December 07, 2016 at 01:10 PM EST
Julia Brokaw

Ryan Adams is back with a new album — this time, a collection of his own music.

Prisoner, his first album since covering Taylor Swift’s 1989 last year, is due out Feb. 17 via Pax Am/Blue Note/Capitol. To coincide with the announcement, Adams also released the first track, an unfettered, guitar-heavy tune called “Do You Still Love Me?”

The collection was originally due out this fall and when Adams spoke to EW about the record this summer, he cited being inspired by the “sonic geography” of Bruce Springsteen’s Darkness on the Edge of Town and the Smiths’ Meat Is Murder.

“I’m taking all the cool, big questions I’m asking on this record, then flipping it over, and then flipping it back to Side-A and you still have more questions…I’m a relatively convoluted soul creatively,” he said of Prisoner, which will also be his first album of original music since splitting with ex-wife Mandy Moore. “I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. I think the challenge for me—the Everest peak, for me—is to tell this story in [12] songs, to tell this part of my life in [12] songs. How do I make a real distinct record where anybody listens to it and says, ‘That’s the truth from beginning to end.’ So it’s like exercise. It sucks in the beginning. But then you get into it.”

Prisoner is now available for preorder. Fans will receive “Do You Still Love Me?” as an instant grat when ordering. See the tracklist below. 

1. Do You Still Love Me?

2. Prisoner

3. Doomsday

4. Haunted House

5. Shiver and Shake

6. To Be Without You

7. Anything I Say To You Now

8. Breakdown

9. Outbound Train

10. Broken Anyway

11. Tightrope

12. We Disappear