Credit: David Bornfriend; Holly Horner

Jenny Slate and Edgar Ramirez announced the nominees for the 32nd Independent Spirit Awards on Tuesday, with Moonlight, American Honey, and Manchester by the Sea taking home the most nominations.

Moonlight and American Honey tied with six nods, including Best Feature and Best Director for Barry Jenkins and Andrea Arnold. Moonlight also took home the Robert Altman award for best ensemble (honoring the director, the casting director, and the film’s ensemble cast). Other Best Feature nominees include Chronic, Jackie, and Manchester by the Sea, which earned five nominations in total.

The Independent Spirit Awards recognize the year’s best independent films, and other buzzy projects like La La Land or Nocturnal Animals weren’t eligible this year because their budgets were too high to meet the award criteria. Still, an Independent Spirit Award nomination can be a good indicator of how a film will do at the Oscars: For the past three years, the winner of the Spirit Award for Best Feature has gone on to win the Oscar for Best Picture (12 Years a Slave, Birdman, and Spotlight).

The winners will be announced on IFC on Feb. 25, 2017 (the day before the Academy Awards). See the full list of nominees below.

Best Feature

American Honey



Manchester by the Sea


Best Director

Andrea Arnold, American Honey

Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

Pablo Larraín, Jackie

Jeff Nichols, Loving

Kelly Reichardt, Certain Women

Best Male Lead

Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea

David Harewood, Free in Deed

Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic

Jesse Plemons, Other People

Tim Roth, Chronic

Best Female Lead

Annette Bening, 20th Century Women

Isabelle Huppert, Elle

Sasha Lane, American Honey

Ruth Negga, Loving

Natalie Portman, Jackie

Best Supporting Female

Edwina Findley, Free In Deed

Paulina Garcia, Little Men

Lily Gladstone, Certain Women

Riley Keough, American Honey

Molly Shannon, Other People

Best Supporting Male

Ralph Fiennes, A Bigger Splash

Ben Foster, Hell or High Water

Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea

Shia LaBeouf, American Honey

Craig Robinson, Morris from America

Best First Feature

The Childhood of a Leader

The Fits

Other People

Swiss Army Man

The Witch

Best Documentary



I Am Not Your Negro

OJ: Made in America


Under the Sun

Best Screenplay

Barry Jenkins (story by Tarell Alvin McCraney), Moonlight

Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea

Mike Mills, 20th Century Women

Ira Sachs and Mauricio Zacharias, Little Men

Taylor Sheridan, Hell or High Water

Best First Screenplay

Robert Eggers, The Witch

Chris Kelly, Other People

Adam Mansbach, Barry

Stella Meghie, Jean of the Joneses

Craig Shilowich, Christine

Best Cinematography

Ava Berkofsky, Free In Deed

Lol Crawley, The Childhood of a Leader

Zach Kuperstein, The Eyes of My Mother

James Laxton, Moonlight

Robbie Ryan, American Honey

Best Editing

Matthew Hannam, Swiss Army Man

Jennifer Lame, Manchester by the Sea

Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders, Moonlight

Jake Roberts, Hell or High Water

Sebastián Sepúlveda, Jackie

Best International Film



My Golden Days

Toni Erdmann

Under the Shadow

John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature Under $500,000)

Free in Deed

Hunter Gatherer



Spa Night

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble)