Hear 'On Hold' now
Credit: Laura Coulson
  • Music

After teasing new music for the weeks, the xx announced on Thursday they have a new album coming in January. I See You will be out Jan. 13 via Young Turks. The group also released a new single from the collection, “On Hold.”

I See You features 10 songs — see the tracklist below — and follows their 2009 album xx and 2012’s Coexist.

According to a release, I See You was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in New York, Marfa TX, Reykjavik, Los Angeles, and London and produced by Rodaidh McDonald and one of the group members Jamie Smith, who released a critically acclaimed solo album under the moniker Jamie xx in 2015.

Though the xx, comprised of Smith, Romy Madley Croft, and Oliver Sim, has kept quiet about the album’s details until now, they wrote a note to fans on Facebook in October. “We are in the studio working on our third album,” the band wrote. “It feels so good to be together making new music.” The note also coincided with a list of global tour dates that begin in November and run until April. They have not revealed North American tour dates just yet.

Hear The xx’s “On Hold” and see the tracklist for I See You below.

1. Dangerous

2. Say Something Loving

3. Lips

4. A Violent Noise

5. Performance

6. Replica

7. Brave For You

8. On Hold

9. I Dare You

10. Test Me

The xx
  • Music