The collection is out Dec. 2

By Christian Holub
Updated October 06, 2016 at 05:20 PM EDT
Meredith has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though Meredith may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links.
Credit: Mark Seliger

The Rolling Stones aren’t done yet. On Thursday, the legendary rock band announced a new album, Blue & Lonesome, their first since 2005’s A Bigger Bang. This one will feature a series of blues covers, and the band released a snippet of the track “Just Your Fool” alongside a 360-degree album cover. As indicated by that snippet, the songs are loose and blues-y.

“We didn’t spend any time rehearsing them or anything,” guitarist Ron Wood told the BBC back in April. “We just picked a song that suited Mick’s harmonica or a guitar riff… and they worked out pretty good. It was like, ‘this is what the Stones do, we play blues.'”

Produced by Don Was and the Glimmer Twins, Blue & Lonesome was recorded in three days in December 2015 in London’s British Grove Studio.

“This album is manifest testament to the purity of their love for making music, and the blues is, for the Stones, the fountainhead of everything they do,” Was said in a statement.

Eric Clapton also appears on a pair of songs — “Everybody Knows About My Good Thing” and “I Can’t Quit You Baby” — and according to a release, he was recording in the studio next door.

Blue & Lonesome is out Dec. 2, but is available for pre-order now. Check out the tracklist below. Unlike past Rolling Stones albums, this one comes with its own emoji. Tweeting #RollingStones temporarily creates a miniature version of the album cover, the Stones’ classic tongue logo done up in blue.

Blue & Lonesome:

01 Just Your Fool

02 Commit A Crime

03 Blue And Lonesome

04 All Of Your Love

05 I Gotta Go

06 Everybody Knows About My Good Thing

07 Ride ‘Em On Down

08 Hate To See You Go

09 Hoo Doo Blues

10 Little Rain

11 Just Like I Treat You

12 I Can’t Quit You Baby