By Madeline Raynor
October 04, 2016 at 04:58 PM EDT

A Column of Fire

Ken Follett‘s next novel, titled A Column of Fire, will be published in 2017, Viking announced Monday. EW is thrilled to exclusively premiere the cover.

The next novel in the Kingsbridge series, A Column of Fire is set during the reign of Queen Elizabeth I. The plot follows lovers Will Willard and Margery Fitzgerald over a half century of political and religious turbulence. The two are on opposite sides of the conflict between the Protestants and the Catholics. Will also works for Queen Elizabeth, who has created the country’s first secret service to give her the information she needs to control England in the face of extremist violence.

“I’m thrilled to be publishing the next novel in the Kingsbridge series with Viking and introducing readers to the world of spies and secret agents in the sixteenth century, the time of Queen Elizabeth I,” Follett said in a statement. “It’s a rich and fascinating part of history and I’m excited to share this with book lovers.”

The previous books in the Kingsbridge series are The Pillars of the Earth and World Without End. A Column of Fire is out Sept. 12.

See the cover below:

A Column of Fire

  • Book
Complete Coverage
  • A Column of Fire