The new version of the iconic album is due out Oct. 14
Credit: Martyn Goodacre/Getty Images

Beastie Boys’ iconic 1986 album Licensed to Ill is getting a vinyl reissue celebrating its 30th anniversary. Cut from the original master, the reissue, printed on 180-gram heavyweight vinyl, will be out Oct. 14 via Def Jam.

The album, which housed “(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party),” “Brass Monkey,” and “No Sleep Till Brooklyn,” was the first hip-hop album to hit No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart and was certified diamond by the RIAA, selling over 10 million copies.

Licensed To Ill, produced by the Beastie Boys and Rick Rubin, made the group the fifth artist to release a full-length album on the original Def Jam label.

“The breakthrough of Licensed To Ill in 1986 paved the road legitimizing Rap to its USA masses, and set the barometer worldwide on the genre album format,” Public Enemy’s Chuck D said in a statement. “This record also expanded Hip-Hop diversity allowing Public Enemy’s Takes A Nation to be its antithesis.”

See a track listing below.

1. Rhymin & Stealin’

2. The New Style

3. She’s Crafty

4. Posse in Effect

5. Slow Ride

6. Girls

7. (You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)

8. No Sleep till Brooklyn

9. Paul Revere

10. Hold It Now, Hit It

11. Brass Monkey

12. Slow and Low

13. Time to Get Ill

Beastie Boys
  • Music