The track is off their forthcoming album 'WALLS'

By Jessica Goodman
September 09, 2016 at 11:54 AM EDT
Jimmy Marble
  • Music

Kings of Leon will release their seventh studio album WALLS on Oct. 14, and on Friday they shared the first single from the collection, their first since 2013’s Mechanical Bull.

Called “Waste A Moment,” it’s also the first song on WALLS‘ tracklist. Arcade Fire producer Markus Dravs produced the whole collection.

With a soaring chorus and lyrics like, “Take the time to waste a moment, oh never ask to be forgiven,” “Waste A Moment” relies on tempered guitars and anthemic “Oh-oh-ohs.”

“We’re trying to change people’s perception of [us],” Kings of Leon frontman Caleb Followill told EW earlier this year when discussing WALLS. “We have more depth on this album and more situations where we dipped our toe in before but never committed. Now we’re wanting to dive in. I know this is a pop-driven world and what we do isn’t necessarily at the top of the heap of music that people are listening to, but I feel like once people discover this album, it’s going to change them. “

  • Music
Complete Coverage