It's their first record in eight years

By Dana Getz
September 08, 2016 at 03:22 PM EDT
Jamie McCarthy/WireImage

The Pretenders have announced their first album in eight years. Titled Alone, it’s due out Oct. 21 and features The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach.

The collection follows 2008’s Break Up the Concrete, their ninth studio record. It marks their longest break between projects, usurping the six-year gap from 2002’s Loose Screw to Break Up.

Alone was recorded in Auerbach’s Nashville studio. It also includes assists from bassist Dave Roe (Johnny Cash, Loretta Lynn), pedal steel guitarist Russ Pahl (Blake Shelton), guitarist Kenny Vaughan (Lana Del Rey), keyboardist Leon Michels, and drummer Richard Swift. Vocalist Chrissie Hynde is the only original Pretenders member to appear on the LP.

As previously announced, the band will hit the road with Stevie Nicks shortly after Alone‘s release. They’ll serve as the singer’s special guests on her 28-city North American solo tour, which launches Oct. 25 in Phoenix, Arizona and wraps Dec. 18 in Los Angeles.