Anne V. Coates, Lynn Stalmaster, and Frederick Wiseman to be honored at annual fete

By Devan Coggan
Updated September 01, 2016 at 04:40 PM EDT
Don Arnold/WireImage

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has named this year’s Governors Award winners: Jackie Chan, film editor Anne V. Coates, casting director Lynn Stalmaster, and documentary filmmaker Frederick Wiseman.

Each year, the Academy’s board votes to honor notable filmmakers and artists, presenting the winners with honorary Oscar statuettes at the Governors Awards on Nov. 12. Some years, the board also gives out the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, but all four of this year’s recipients received the Honorary Award instead, a statuette that honors “extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

Chan is known for his lifelong acting and martial arts career in both Hong Kong and Hollywood, while Coates has spent 60 years as a film editor on projects like Lawrence of Arabia and Murder on the Orient Express. Stalmaster has worked as a casting director on more than 200 films, including The Graduate, Fiddler on the Roof, and Harold and Maude, and Wiseman is known for his documentaries like Titicut Follies, In Jackson Heights, and National Gallery.

Spike Lee, Debbie Reynolds, and Gena Rowlands were honored at last year’s Governors Awards.