Plus a video with outtakes from the film

By Dana Getz
August 22, 2016 at 07:53 PM EDT
Pamela Littky
  • Movie

Two years after penning dubbed out goof-off track, “Everything is AWESOME!!!” for The LEGO Movie, Tegan and Sara have once again turned their songwriting skills to screen for The Intervention soundtrack entry “Fade Out.”

The song premiered via Rolling Stone on Monday. It was originally penned for the duo’s eighth studio album, June’s Love You To Death, but they readjusted the lyrics for the film. Its style follows suit with the record’s heavily romantic, synth-soaked style, recounting a love gone sour atop dazzling ’80s instrumentals.

“I played a rough idea of it for [director and writer] Clea [DuVall] and she really liked it,” Sara Quin told Rolling Stone. “So I tried to imagine Melanie Lynskey’s character and the misguided attempt to fix other people’s lives when she herself was headed for a fadeout in her own relationship and rewrote the lyrics.”

The Intevention follows four couples on a weekend getaway that takes an unsuspecting turn when it becomes a marriage intervention for one of the pairs. Natasha Lyonne, Cobie Smulders, Jason Ritter, and Alia Shawkat star. The accompanying video for “Fade Out” splices together outtakes from the movie.

“‘Fade Out’ captures the emotional complexity of the film,” DuVall said. “I love the duality of the dreamy melody with the somewhat bittersweet lyrics. When Sara first played me the finished song, all of my anxiety disappeared. The more I hear it, the more I fall in love with it.”

The Intervention hits theaters Friday. Watch the video for “Fade Out” below.

  • Movie
  • R
release date
  • 08/26/16
  • 90 minutes
  • Clea DuVall
Complete Coverage