By Dana Getz
Updated August 17, 2016 at 03:46 PM EDT
Alberto Rodriguez/BET/Getty Images; Matthew Eisman/Getty Images
  • Music

As De La Soul gear up for the Aug. 26 release of And The Anonymous Nobody…, the hip-hop trio have debuted the album’s dreamy Usher collab, “Greyhounds.”

The single ruminates on people’s search for greater meaning in life and the bus routes they take to find it, layering introspective rhymes atop an atmospheric instrumental sprawl. Usher takes on the slow-velocity hook. “I don’t need to check your baggage / I don’t need to know your name / All I need to know is by the time you arrive you’ll forever be changed,” he sings.

De La Soul have already shared five of the 17-track project’s songs, including the Little Dragon-assisted “Drawn” and Snoop Dogg-featuring “Pain.” Also on the record are 2Chainz, Talking Heads’ David Byrne, the Darkness’ Justin Hawkins, and Damon Albarn of Gorillaz and Blur.

A crowd-funded effort, And The Anonymous Nobody… marks the group’s first album as a trio in 12 years, following 2004’s The Grind Date. Members Kelvin Mercer and David Jolicoeur put out Plug 1 & Plug 2 Present… First Serve with French DJ duo Chokolate and Khalid in 2012.

In order to avoid the often messy proceedings of clearing hip-hop samples, the collection drew from over 200 hours of sessions with “some of LA’s finest studio musicians,” recording them in “free-styled, unrehearsed jam sessions,” according to the band’s Kickstarter campaign. The resulting record “will incorporate elements of jazz, funk, rock, country western, and anything else [there] in the moment.”

Listen to “Greyhounds” below.

De La Soul

  • Music