The supergroup will drop the collection this month

By Eric Renner Brown
August 15, 2016 at 08:30 PM EDT
Danny Clinch
  • Music

Earlier this summer, Prophets of Rage announced their formation, played their first shows, and scheduled a world tour for the late summer and early fall. Now, the rap-rock supergroup — comprised of Public Enemy’s Chuck D, Cypress Hill’s B-Real, and members of Rage Against the Machine — has shared plans for The Party’s Over, their debut EP.

Out Aug. 26, the politically incendiary band will drop the five-song project, which includes the previously released, eponymous single “Prophets of Rage” — itself a reworking of the 1988 Public Enemy song of the same name. The EP also includes live versions of Rage Against the Machine’s “Killing in the Name” and Public Enemy’s “Shut Em Down,” another live cut titled “No Sleep Til Cleveland” (Prophets have played Beastie Boys’ “No Sleep Till Brooklyn” at some of their concerts), and the new original “The Party’s Over.” “No Sleep Til Cleveland” and “The Party’s Over” will debut on Apple Music’s Beats 1 on Aug. 18 and 25, respectively.

Prophets of Rage made a scene when they performed outside the Republican National Convention in Cleveland last month, and the group’s Make America Rage Again Tour promises to be a buzzy one as election season hype continues to grow.

“Our country is on the brink of chaos,” Prophets’ guitarist Tom Morello told the Los Angeles Times in June. “And I’m a person who’s always trying to have a political impact through my vocation, which is music. So we believe we can no longer stand on the sidelines of history.”

  • Music
Complete Coverage