The song is featured on the rocker's upcoming acoustic anthology, due out Sept. 9

By Madison Vain
August 11, 2016 at 05:51 PM EDT

Nearly 20 years into his recording career, Jack White is looking back. The singer announced Thursday that this fall will see the release of a career-spanning double LP of acoustic recordings that dot his tenure.

The 26-song collection kicks off with “Sugar Never Tasted So Good,” originally housed on the White Stripes’ second-ever 7-inch single, before working through favorites from White’s time with the White Stripes, the Raconteurs, and, of course, his solo work. Many of the tunes featured are alternate versions, like the bluegrass rendition of “Top Yourself,” off the Raconteurs’ 2008 album Consolers of the Lonely, or remixes like “Apple Blossom,” from the White Stripes’ 2000 album De Stijl.

A particular highlight is nestled between 2005’s “As Ugly As I Seem” and 2007’s “Honey, We Can’t Afford to Look This Cheap, is “City Lights,” a song originally written for Satan that White re-discovered in 2015 when the rocker was commissioning the album’s vinyl reissue for that year’s Record Store Day. It is the first new release from the White Stripes since 2008. 

Jack White Acoustic Records 1998-2016 is due for release via White’s label, Third Man Records, and Columbia Records, Sept. 9. It is currently available for pre-order. Hear “City Lights” and see a full track listing below.


1. Sugar Never Tasted So Good

2. Apple Blossom (Remixed)

3. I’m Bound To Pack It Up (Remixed)

4. Hotel Yorba

5. We’re Going To Be Friends

6. You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket

7. Well It’s True That We Love One Another

8. Never Far Away


9. Forever For Her (Is Over For Me)

10. White Moon

11. As Ugly As I Seem

12. City Lights 

13. Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap 

14. Effect & Cause


15. Love Is The Truth (Acoustic Mix)

16. Top Yourself (Bluegrass Version)

17. Carolina Drama (Acoustic Mix)

18. Love Interruption

19. On And On And On

20. Machine Gun Silhouette (Acoustic Mix)


21. Blunderbuss

22. Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy (Alternate Mix)

23. I Guess I Should Go To Sleep (Alternate Mix)

24. Just One Drink (Acoustic Mix)

25. Entitlement

26. Want And Able