The single's off their forthcoming album 'Revolution Radio'

By Jessica Goodman
Updated August 11, 2016 at 05:15 PM EDT
Credit: Frank Maddocks

Green Day returned Thursday with “Bang Bang,” their first single off the forthcoming album Revolution Radio, due out Oct. 7.

The group teased the track last week when frontman Billie Joe Armstrong announced the news on Instagram. It’s their first new music since dropping “Xmas Time of Year” in December, but Green Day’s first official single since releasing 2012’s trilogy of albums ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, and ¡Tré!

When discussing the album with Rolling Stone, Armstrong said, “The first song where I was like, ‘OK, I’m onto something’ was ‘Bang Bang.’ And then the first track of the record, ‘Somewhere Now.’ I started doing demos and I showed them to Mike and Tre. That’s the test. And they absolutely loved it.”

Revolution Radio was recorded in the band’s hometown Oakland and features 12 tracks, all produced by the band. “Of course the world has lost its collective mind… and me, Mike and Tré are lost souls too,” Armstrong said in a release. “Revolution Radio is a movement for lost souls to come together… dance together… sing together… and most of all, find each other. That’s what the spirit of Green Day has been about since day one.”

Hear “Bang Bang” and see a track list for Revolution Radio below.

1. Somewhere Now

2. Bang Bang

3. Revolution Radio

4. Say Goodbye

5. Outlaws

6. Bouncing Off The Wall

7. Still Breathing

8. Youngblood

9. Too Dumb To Die

10. Troubled Times

11. Forever Now

12. Ordinary World