'The Art of Elegance' is due out in September

By Madeline Raynor
Updated August 09, 2016 at 03:33 PM EDT
Christopher Polk/NBC/NBCUPhotoBank via GettyImages

The Art of Elegance

  • Music

Kristin Chenoweth has revealed that her upcoming album, The Art of Elegance, will be devoted to American Songbook classics and the track list includes songs by George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart, Burt Bacharach, Johnnie Mercer, and Hoagy Carmichael. The album will be released Sept. 23 via Concord Records.

The Broadway legend explained the album’s name in a press release and said, “Elegance is a quality that I look for, in music and in life. It goes back deep within me. I’ve always felt that even a little girl from Oklahoma could still be elegant, not just in her musical tastes, but in the way she treats others, how she dresses. I love all kinds of music, but this repertoire has spoken to me my whole life. I remember learning some of this music as young as twelve, and thinking to myself that one day, I would get to perform it. Now here I am with a record dedicated to the melodies and lyrics of some of our greatest composers.”

See the track list below:

1. Someone to Watch Over Me(George Gershwin-Ira Gershwin)

2. I’ve Got a Crush on You (feat. Dave Koz)(George Gershwin-Ira Gershwin)

3. Let’s Fall in Love (Harold Arlen-Ted Koehler)

4. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered (Richard Rodgers-Lorenz Hart)

5. Zing! Went the Strings of My Heart (James F. Hanley)

6. The Very Thought of You (feat. Dave Koz) (Ray Noble)

7. They Can’t Take That Away From Me (George Gershwin-Ira Gershwin)

8. A House Is Not a Home (Burt Bacharach-Hal David)

9. I Get Along Without You Very Well (Hoagy Carmichael)

10. Skylark (Johnnie Mercer-Hoagy Carmichael)

11. I’m a Fool to Want You (Frank Sinatra-Jack Wolf-Joel Herron)

12. Smile (Charlie Chaplin-John Turner-Geoffrey Parsons)

13. You’re My Saving Grace… (Steve Tyrell-Stephanie Tyrell-Barry Coffing)

The Art of Elegance

  • Music