By Noelene Clark
Updated August 02, 2016 at 12:00 PM EDT
Michael Buckner/WireImage

Cheryl Boone Isaacs has been re-elected to a fourth term as president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. The group’s board of governors voted Tuesday to keep Boone Isaacs in the post where she’s served since 2013.

The fourth term will be Boone Isaacs’ last, as academy rules dictate that officers serve a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

Boone Isaacs, whose background is in theatrical marketing, was a senior studio executive who supervised publicity for New Line and Paramount. She’s only the third woman to serve as president of the academy, and the first African-American to hold the post.

In recent months, Boone Isaacs has headed efforts to diversify the Oscar-granting organization in the wake of the #OscarsSoWhite controversy. In June, the academy invited its largest and most diverse group of new members yet: 683 people, 41 percent of whom are people of color and 46 percent of whom are women. And in March, the academy appointed several women and people of color to leadership positions. The moves followed January’s drastic and controversial changes to membership rules in an effort to diversify the group’s overwhelmingly white, male ranks.

On Tuesday, the board also re-elected Jeffrey Kurland as first vice president and chair of the academy’s awards and events committee; John Bailey as vice president and chair of the preservation and history committee; Kathleen Kennedy as vice president and chair of the museum committee; and Jim Gianopulos as treasurer and chair of the finance committee. Newly elected officials include Nancy Utley as vice president and chair of the education and outreach committee, and David Rubin as secretary and chair of the membership and administration committee.