Credit: Myles Aronowitz/Netflix

The Get Down‘s soundtrack has been set for an Aug. 12 release, the same date the hip-hop drama will debut on Netflix.

Its celebrity-stacked lineup includes original music from the show’s cast (Grandmaster Flash, Jaden Smith) as well as contributions from Nas, Miguel, Christina Aguilera, Zayn, Michael Kiwanuka, Leon Bridges, and Raury. It will also feature collaborations with Grammy Award-winning producers Nile Rodgers, Malay, and Emile Haynie.

Executive-produced by Nas and Moulin Rouge director Baz Luhrmann, The Get Down centers around a group of Bronx-based teens as they come of age in the gritty streets of ’70s New York. “The overview of this thing is that New York is in chaos,” supervising producer Nelson George told EW in June. “Symbolically, disco and hip-hop are kind of at war with each other.”

Added Luhrmann in a release: “[The series] is really a story of New York in the late ’70s, an incredibly fertile time of creativity amid chaos. While our production is a musical that embodies many classic hits, we also use contemporary sounds and techniques connecting the dots between then and now. My great privilege is to have associated with such a diverse musical community.”

The soundtrack will debut exclusively through Apple Music, with pre-order starting Aug. 5. Additional artists and full track listing will be announced soon. Watch The Get Down trailer below.

The Get Down
  • TV Show
  • 1