Credit: Merrick Morton
  • Movie

The 73rd Venice Film Festival’s official lineup was announced Thursday morning, with new films from Natalie Portman, Terrence Malick, Ryan Gosling, Tom Ford, Amy Adams, and Derek Cianfrance competing for the event’s prestigious Golden Lion award.

Joining the previously-announced opening night film, La La Land, in competition are Cianfrance’s The Light Between Oceans, starring Alicia Vikander and Michael Fassbender, Ford’s Nocturnal Animals, Pablo Larrain’s Portman-starring Jacqueline Kennedy Onasis biopic, Jackie, Denis Villeneuve’s Arrival, Malick’s first documentary, Voyage of Time, and Ana Lily Amirpour’s sophomore feature, The Bad Batch, among others.

Debuting out of competition are The Bleeder, starring real-life husband and wife duo Naomi Watts and Liev Schreiber, Antoine Fuqua’s The Magnificent Seven, and a new film from director Mel Gibson, Hacksaw Ridge. Special screenings are also set for Rebecca Zlotowski’s Planetarium and Tim Sutton’s Dark Night.

Fronting this year’s festival jury is director Sam Mendes (Spectre), who will oversee the assignment of the Golden Lion, the festival’s top award. Mendes’ jury also includes Laurie Anderson, Gemma Arterton, Nina Hoss, Giancarlo De Cataldo, Chiara Mastroianni, Lorenzo Vigas, Zhao Wei, and Joshua Oppenheimer.

Venice is considered a key stop for films along the awards season circuit. La La Land, Nocturnal Animals, and The Magnificent Seven were announced Tuesday as part of the 2016 Toronto International Film Festival’s lineup, indicating likely Oscar pushes by their respective distributors. In the recent past, films like Gravity, The Danish Girl, Spotlight, Anomalisa, Birdman, and The Master have screened at Venice ahead of reaping major Oscar nominations and/or wins.

The 2016 Venice Film Festival runs from Aug. 30 – Sept. 10.


The Bad Batch, Ana Lily Amirpour (U.S.)

Une Vie, Stéphane Brizé (France/Belgium)

La La Land, Damien Chazelle (U.S.)

The Light Between Oceans, Derek Cianfrance (U.S./Australia/New Zealand)

El Ciudadano Ilustre, Mariano Cohn, Gaston Duprat (Argentina/Spain)

Spira Mirabilis, Massimo D’Anolfi, Martina Parenti (Italy/Switzerland)

The Woman Who Left, Lav Diaz (Philippines)

La Region Salvaje, Amat Escalante (Mexico)

Nocturnal Animals, Tom Ford (U.S.)

Piuma, Roan Johnson (Italy)

Paradise, Andrei Konchalovsky (Russia/Germany)

Brimstone, Martin Koolhoven (Netherlands/Germany/Belgium/France/U.K./Sweden)

On the Milky Road, Emir Kusturica (Serbia/U.K./U.S.)

Jackie, Pablo Larrain (U.S./Chile)

Voyage of Time, Terrence Malick (U.S./Germany)

El Cristo Ciego, Christopher Murray (Chile/France)

Frantz, François Ozon (France)

Questi Giorni, Giuseppe Piccioni (Italy)

Arrival, Denis Villeneuve (U.S.)

Les Beaux Jours D’Aranjuez – 3D, Wim Wenders (France/Germany)


Our War, Bruno Chiaravalloti, Claudio Jampaglia, Benedetta Argentieri (Italy)

I Called Him Morgan, Kasper Collin (Sweden, U.S.)

One More Time With Feeling – 3D, Andrew Dominik (U.K.)

The Bleeder, Philippe Falardeau (U.S./Canada)

The Magnificent Seven, Antoine Fuqua (U.S.)

Hacksaw Ridge, Mel Gibson (U.S./Australia)

The Journey, Nick Hamm (U.K.)

À Jamais, Benoit Jacquot (France, Portugal)

The Age Of Shadows, Jee-woon Kim (Korea)

Gantz:O, Yasushi Kawamura (Japan)

Austerlitz, Sergei Loznitsa (Germany)

Assalto Al Cielo, Francesco Munzi (Italy)

Monte, Amir Naderi (Italy/U.S./France)

Tommaso, Kim Rossi Stuart (Italy)

Safari, Ulrich Seidl (Austria, Denmark)

The Young Pope (episodes I and II), Paolo Sorrentino (Italy/France/Spain/U.S.)


Planetarium, Rebecca Zlotowski (France, Belgium)

Dark Night, Tim Sutton (U.S.)


Tarde para la ira, Raul Arevalo (Spain)

King of the Belgians, Peter Brosens, Jessica Woolworth (Belgium, Netherlands, Bulgaria)

Through the Wall, Rama Burshtein (Israel)

Liberami, Federica Di Giacomo (Italy, France)

Big Big World, Reha Erdem (Turkey)

Gukuroku, Ishikawa Kei (Japan)

Maudit Poutine, Karl Lemieux, (Canada)

Sao Jorge, Marco Martins (Portugal, France)

Dawson City: Frozen Time, Bill Morrison (U.S., France)

Reparer les vivants, Katell Quillevere (France, Belgium)

White Sun, Deepak Rauniyar (Nepal, U.S., Qatar, Netherlands)

Malaria, Parviz Shahbazi (Iran)

Kekszakallu, Gaston Solnicky (Argentina)

Home, Fien Troch (Belgium)

Die Einsiedler, Fien Troch (Germany, Austria)

Il più grande sogno, (Italy)

Boys in the Trees, Nicholas Verso (Australia)

Bitter Money, Wang Bing (China)


Orecchie, Alessandro Aronadio (Italy)

Mukti Bhawan (Hotel Salvation), Shubhashish Bhutiani (India)

Una Hermana (One Sister), Sofia Brockenshire (Argentina)

La Soledad, Jorge Thielen Armand (Venezuela)


Spes Contra Spem – Liberi Dentro,Ambrogio Crespi (Italy)

REM, Thomas Koolhaas (U.S.)

El Vendedor De Orquideas, Lorenzo Vigas (Venezuela)


  • Movie
  • PG-13
  • 116 minutes
  • Denis Villeneuve