The politically charged crew continue their quest to Make America Rage Again

By Madison Vain
July 18, 2016 at 03:02 PM EDT
  • Music

Prophets of Rage — the supergroup featuring members of Rage Against the Machine, Cypress Hill, and Public Enemy — have promised to cause a ruckus at the Republic National Convention this week, and when they arrive, it will be with new, original material in hand. 

On Monday, the band released their fiery, self-titled single that, yes, rages against indolence and takes listeners through an AP history class of black activists, name-checking Marcus Garvey, Nat Turner, Denmark Vesey, Gabriel Prosser, and Nelson Mandela. 

Before embarking on their summer tour, the group will perform Tuesday evening in Cleveland, Ohio while the Republican National Convention is taking place. “Our country is on the brink of chaos,” Tom Morello told the Los Angeles Times. “And I’m a person who’s always trying to have a political impact through my vocation, which is music. So we believe we can no longer stand on the sidelines of history.”

Morello and the rest of his Rage Against The Machine outfit have never shied from using their stage as a political platform. They previously played a memorable gig at the 2000 Democratic National Convention in Los Angeles, protesting the two-party system in America. One hundred people were arrested when a riot broke out following the show. 

  • Music
Complete Coverage