Credit: Theo Wargo/Getty Images

This kid is out. Broadway’s Hamilton said farewell to another original cast member on Friday night, as Daveed Diggs left the show. The actor behind the roles of Marquis de Lafayette and Thomas Jefferson made his Broadway debut with Hamilton and won a Tony Award for his work.

“Tonight, we say au revoir to [Daveed Diggs], the Lancelot of the revolutionary set,” the official Hamilton Twitter account wrote alongside a short video tribute to Diggs.

Gregory Haney, a swing for the production, posted video of Diggs’ final bows. The actor received an uproarious standing ovation from the audience and cast.

Diggs, who won a Tony for featured actor in a musical, follows Lin-Manuel Miranda, Leslie Odom Jr., and Phillipa Soo, all of whom stepped down from their roles in Hamilton.

Javier Muñoz, Miranda’s successor as the new Alexander Hamilton, recalled his time working with Diggs in a video on Twitter.

“For your last day, Daveed, I just wanna make a little video to say thank you for making this the safest space in the building through my treatment, post-treatment, and through every step we took together in the show — and I couldn’t have asked for a better roommate,” he said. “Every second of it has been awesome.”

Diggs replied, “Don’t make me cry yet.”

Another member of the Hamilton crew, Renée Elise Goldsberry, also honored her departing cast mate. “I’m trying not to cry cause there’s nothing that your mind can’t do,” she wrote on Instagram. “I love you Daveed!” Goldsberry, too, will depart Hamilton to act opposite Joel Kinnaman in Netflix’s 10-episode series Altered Carbon.

Of course, it’s not an official goodbye until Diggs completes the long-standing tradition of taking celebratory shots from the Hamilton Grammy. The actor tweeted he and the cast drank “nearly 40” shots, while posting clips of the festivities to Snapchat.

Diggs will now be seen on the big screen in Wonder, the film adaptation of Raquel J. Palacio’s best-selling novel. He joins the previously announced Julia Roberts, Jacob Tremblay, and Owen Wilson under the direction of Stephen Chbosky (The Perks of Being a Wallflower).

  • Stage