The 80-track compilation chronicles the label's 20-year run

By Eric Renner Brown
Updated July 12, 2016 at 03:35 PM EDT
Credit: Kevin Mazur/Getty Images

Bad Boy Entertainment, the iconic record label founded by Puff Daddy, has announced a history-spanning compilation: With five discs containing 80 tracks, the Bad Boy 20th Anniversary Box Set Edition will drop physically and digitally on August 12.

The collection dates back to Bad Boy’s 1993 inception, which means it includes plenty of vintage cuts by the likes of the Notorious B.I.G. (“Juicy”), Faith Evans (“Love Like This”), and Mase (“Feel So Good”). But it also celebrates the label’s more recent hitmakers, like Janelle Monáe (“Primetime”) and French Montana (“Pop That”). The tracklist also sports cuts by Cassie, Total, 112, Carl Thomas, Mario Winans, Shyne, Black Rob, G. Dep, 8Ball & MJG, Nelly, Gorilla Zoe, MGK, Elephant Man, Danity Kane, Red Cafe, Cheri Dennis, Day26, the Lox, and, of course, Puff Daddy under his multiple monikers.

Bad Boy 20th Anniversary Box Set Edition also comes with a 64-page historical look at the label by hip-hop journalist Michael A. Gonzales.

The compilation arrives days before Puff Daddy embarks on the upcoming Bad Boy Family Reunion Tour with Lil’ Kim, Faith Evans, Mase, French Montana, the Lox, Carl Thomas, 112, Total, and Mario Winans. That string of dates kicks off Aug. 25 in Columbus, Ohio and concludes Oct. 8 in Oakland, California.

“We’re like the circus coming to town,” Puff Daddy told EW in May before Bad Boy’s initial reunion show at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center. “We’re the greatest show on earth, baby.”