'13 Voices,' their first album in five years, is due out in October

By Jessica Goodman
June 29, 2016 at 12:26 PM EDT

Sum 41

  • Music

A year after announcing a comeback album was in the works, Sum 41 has released new music.

Called “Fake My Own Death,” the track came out late Tuesday night and the band posted a note to Facebook explaining that even though it wasn’t the first single, they wanted fans to get “taste” of new music. The song’s video captures meme culture, with references to Kim Kardashian, Donald Trump, Bernie Sanders, and Bill Cosby, among others.

“Today is the day, we can’t wait any longer!” they wrote. “You guys have been so patient and so awesome. We wanted you to have this, even though we’re still putting the final touches on the album and haven’t officially picked the first single yet… a new song with a video so you can see what the fuck we’re up to these days! Thank you all for being so patient! This one is for all the skumfuks! ’13 VOICES’ will be screaming on OCT. 7!” The note is signed from frontman Deryck Whibley.

Sum 41 last released an album, Screaming Bloody Murder, in 2011 and and in 2014 Whibley came out about alcoholism. In 2014 he posted a note on his website telling fans about his condition. “I finally realized I can’t drink anymore. If I have one drink the docs say I will die,” he wrote.

In 2015, he told Vice that Sum 41 were “halfway through a record” and that he was in “the best shape of his life.”

See the video for “Fake My Own Death,” directed by Marc Klasfeld, above. 13 Voices is out Oct. 7 via Hopeless Records.


Sum 41

  • Music
Complete Coverage
  • Sum 41